Skip to main content

Outstanding seniors to receive top honors

May 01, 2008
Twenty ASU graduating students will receive Outstanding Graduate awards from the ASU Alumni Association at commencement May 8, having been selected for special honor by their individual colleges. They combine high academic achievement with leadership and service.

Honorees are Megan McGinnity, majoring in political science and economics, Barrett, the Honors College; Michael Corinne Illies, design management, College of Design; Karen Ramirez, recreation and tourism, College of Human Services; Lisa Danley, international studies, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences; Zoe Coleman, nursing, College of Nursing & Healthcare Innovation; Ian Hagerman, public policy, College of Public Programs; Hannah Walters, special education, College of Teacher Education & Leadership; Shruthi Sadananda, electrical systems engineering technology, College of Technology and Innovation; Harper Piver, dance, Herberger College of the Arts.

Others are Alllison Engstrom, materials science and engineering, Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering; Jenna Waldrop, secondary education, Mary Lou Fulton College of Education; Osman Hussein, agribusiness, Morrison School of Management and Agribusiness; Mitchell Bartholomew, psychology, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences; Chelsea Durkin, law, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law; Teresa Araas, exercise, nutrition and wellness, School of Applied Arts and Sciences; David Cooper, accountancy, School of Global Management & Leadership.

They also include Crystal Pirlo, elementary education, School of Educational Innovation and Teacher Preparation; Michael Olive, history and anthropology, School of Letters & Sciences; Omar Badri, economics, W.P. Carey School of Business; and Lauren Hengl, journalism, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

In addition, 34 seniors are receiving Moeur Awards from the ASU Alumni Association, for achieving 4.0 grade-point averages and having completed all their classwork at ASU.

They are James Barfoot, majoring in chemical engineering; Robin Bariel, theater design and production; Sarah Becker, communication; Connie Burdis, supply chain management; Lara Carlson, elementary education; Thomas Cerchie, journalism/mass communication; Chad Chapman, management and history; Andrew Coronado, psychology; Ann Donnelly, interior design; Joseph Eschrich, film and media studies; Patrick Finn, accountancy, Michelle Heap, philosophy.

Others are Lindsey Hilmer, management and marketing; Kelly Layton, bioengineering; Ryan Lepic, English and German; Jennifer Little, marketing; Katelin Loring, management; Rebecca Martin, biology; Danielle Meritet, biology; Adam Milnor, recreation management; Valerie Montoya, urban planning; Katie Mordarski, orchestral performance; Rebecca Munger, nursing; Ruben Ponce Wong, bioengineering; Joel Rosenthal, English literature.

They also include Charles Sales, bioengineering; Patrick Schaefer, journalism/mass communication; Christopher Schulman, accountancy; Deborah Siegel, communication and Japanese; Rebecca Stever, biology; Lydia Tolman, mathematics; Sarah Washburn, biology; Amanda Willim, special education; and Emily Wirth, speech and hearing science.