Skip to main content

Academic adviser earns national award

June 11, 2010

For a third straight year, advisers in ASU’s Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering have been recognized for their work by the leading academic advising organization.

This year the National Academic Advising Association has given an Outstanding New Advisor Award to William Dyer, an adviser in the School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering.

The award recognizes individuals who in the past three or fewer years have made outstanding contributions to advising students. 

Dyer is one of just seven academic advisors in the nation selected to be honored in the category this year. 

He will be presented with the award at the association’s annual conference in Florida in October.

“Working with students in the sciences, especially my biomedical engineering students, is rewarding, and makes hard work and long hours feel effortless,” Dyer said. “This award means the world to me. When you receive an award for outstanding new adviser, you have a certain onus on you to continue to be outstanding."

Previous ASU winners of awards from the national association in recent years are:

• 2008 – Lauren Levin, School of Electrical, Computer, and Energy Engineering, Certificate of Merit, Outstanding Advisor Category.

• 2009 – Mia Kroeger, School for the Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, winner in the Outstanding New Advisor category, and Sue Mueller, School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Certificate of Merit, Outstanding Advisor category.