Skip to main content

10 doctoral students earn fellowships

October 08, 2007

The Graduate College has awarded 10 fellowships to support highly meritorious ASU doctoral students who are in the final stages of post-candidacy doctoral work and research for their dissertations. Dissertation fellows receive a monetary award for one year, in addition to a resident tuition waiver and health insurance.

Awards are made in these five areas:

• Arts, humanities and social sciences.

• Natural sciences and mathematics.

• Engineering.

• Professional programs and education.

• Interdisciplinary research.

“These fellowships provide students who have performed outstanding research the resources to complete their dissertation,” says Andrew Webber, associate vice provost. “The selection process was highly competitive, and these 10 students represent the best and brightest of our Ph.D. students.”

The students are:

• Hina Arora, information systems.

• Sarah Gershon, political science.

• Richard Hopkins, history.

• Amy McAdam, School of Earth & Space Exploration.

• Nathan Morehouse, School of Life Sciences (SOLS).

• George Perry, School of Human Evolution and Social Change.

• Angela Picco, SOLS.

• Jennifer Santos, English.

• Sandra Woien, philosophy.

• Xin Zhang, computer science engineering.

Michele St. George,
(480) 965-5995