Ramón de la Fuente to receive honorary degree

April 5, 2013

Juan Ramón de la Fuente, renown faculty member at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), will receive the Doctor of Humane Letters honoris causa at the Arizona State University undergraduate commencement ceremony on May 9 in Sun Devil Stadium.

De la Fuente’s career has resulted in many diverse accomplishments that have strengthened Mexico’s health, higher education and scientific research systems. These activities have led to national and international recognition of his leadership in both academic and public service. Download Full Image

After being appointed professor at UNAM’s medical school and director of the university program for health research, he was nominated vice-chancellor for science in 1989, dean of the medical school in 1991 and rector of the university in 1999, a position for which he was unanimously reappointed for a second term in 2003.

In this capacity, he established new centers and research facilities, implemented new undergraduate curricula, updated graduate programs and promoted new models for education using the latest information and communication technologies. This helped meet the growing demand for access to higher education within the country.

Under his rectorship several new research centers were created from diverse disciplines such as genomics, applied physics, earth and the environment, as well as the humanities including education. Facilities were built and staffed outside of México City aimed to decentralize the campus. De la Fuente also fostered affirmative action programs in support of gender equality and scholarships for minority groups. These efforts centered on behalf of indigenous students.

Besides authoring nearly 250 scientific papers, De la Fuente has edited 17 books on topics related to health, education and scientific research. His research on alcohol abuse led to the design of a tool of universal validity for the reliable identification of this problem from its early stages. This tool has been was adopted by the World Health Organization, the International Labor Organization and the U.K. Institutes for Clinical Excellence.  

De la Fuente was the Minister of Health of México between 1994 and 1999. As such, he created the National Commission for Protection of Patients Rights. He won a legal struggle to incorporate generic drugs to the market place in México. The health reform he led has benefited 16 million Mexicans who were incorporated into the health system.

He currently directs the seminar for global studies at the University of México and sits on diverse committees and boards. 

Winners announced at the 2013 ASU Pitchfork Awards

April 5, 2013

The wait is officially over for the winners of the 2013 ASU Pitchfork Awards. The second annual award show took place at the Orpheum Theater in downtown Phoenix on April 4 and included Sparky on the maroon carpet, performances by ASU students and a big celebration of Sun Devil achievements. 

The winners of the 2013 ASU Pitchfork Awards are as follows: Download Full Image

Best Educational Program
Camp Sparky     

Best Entertainment Program (over 500 attendees)

RHA Tiki Luau    


Best Entertainment Program (under 500 attendees)

PaRHAnormal Activity   


Best Program Celebrating Campus Diversity
Winter Warmth               


Best Recurring Program
Devils in Disguise             


Changemaker Award for Group Service

Community Service Coalition     


Changemaker Award for Social Change
Jared Doles


Changemaker Entrepreneur of the Year
Nisarg Patel       


Emerging Leader Award

Miguel Lopez    


Most Promising New Student Organization
ASU Global Brigades      


Outstanding Advisor
Chad McAllister               


Outstanding Graduate Student Leader
Garrett Friedrich             


Outstanding Graduate Student Organization



Outstanding Student Leader
Holly Vins           


Outstanding Student-Athlete (NCAA)

Shelby Houlihan           
Will Sutton   


Outstanding Sustainable Project or Program
Vicente Solis and Rigoberto Polanco       


Outstanding Teaching Award
Nisarg Patel       


Outstanding Undergraduate Student Organization (Independent)
Alpha Phi Sigma               


Outstanding Undergraduate Student Organization (Sponsored)
Health and Counseling Student Action Committee          


Outstanding Well Devil Project Award
Health and Counseling Student Action Committee          


Sport Club of the Year
Hip Hop Coalition            


Sun Devil Spirit Award (Group)
The Downtown Devils' Advocates           


Sun Devil Spirit Award (Individual)
Jared Cooper