Skip to main content

Professor of Year nominations begin

February 06, 2008

It’s time for ASU faculty, staff and students to honor their favorite colleagues and professors by nominating them for the 2008 Professor of the Year award. Nominations are open online and will continue through Feb. 15 at

The Professor of the Year award, an important faculty-recognition program presented by the ASU Parents Association, has honored 11 ASU professors since its founding in 1994.

“Professor of the Year is one of ASU’s most esteemed awards,” says Robin Okun Hengl, director of parent programs. “The nomination process itself provides an opportunity to let our academic leaders know how much we value their contributions to the ASU community, and the award truly honors a deserving professor who makes a significant impact.”

The Professor of the Year recipient receives a $10,000 cash award and an additional $10,000 ($5,000 per academic year) to fund an undergraduate student research assistant. They also receive lifelong designation as a Parents Association Professor and become a fellow in the ASU Distinguished Teaching Academy.

Last April, Amy Ostrom, a marketing professor in ASU’s W. P. Carey School of Business, was named the 2007 Professor of the Year.

“For some time, I have wanted to enhance my knowledge of two areas – sustainability and design – in the hopes of developing new streams of multidisciplinary research that can make unique contributions,” Ostrom says. “I have hired an undergraduate honors student to assist me in delving into these two areas thanks to the award funds that I received. Soon, I hope there will be a team of us dedicated to this work.”

While it has allowed her to accomplish important work, Ostrom says the cash award is not the most significant aspect of Professor of the Year.

“As professors, we just love what we do – we’re not really looking to receive an award for it,” Ostrom says. “However, this award is great validation for us, and it energizes us to do more.”

The 2008 Professor of the Year recipient will be announced at a celebration event April 14 at Old Main in the Carson Ballroom on the Tempe campus. All nominators and Professor of the Year nominees will be invited to attend.