Skip to main content

High school teachers to participate in Reynolds Institute at ASU

woman working on a computer
June 12, 2014

Thirty-four high school journalism teachers from across the country will enhance their digital and teaching skills at Arizona State University this summer during a training program funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and administered by the American Society of News Editors through its Youth Journalism Initiative.

In its eighth year at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, the two-week Reynolds High School Journalism Institute immerses teachers in specialized skills, such as writing, editing, reporting, multimedia, layout and photojournalism. It also provides grounding in professional ethics, news literacy, the First Amendment and scholastic press freedom.

Participants, many from underrepresented high schools, were selected in a competitive process. They are supplied with housing, meals, continuing-education credit and instructional materials free of charge.

The boot camp-style workshop is taught by Steve Elliott, director of digital news for the Cronkite School’s professional reporting program Cronkite News Service.

Elliott said teachers consistently describe the institute as a once-in-a-lifetime experience that enhances their skills and builds lasting professional contacts. “It’s been extremely rewarding through the years to see the benefits of this instruction, not just through these dedicated teachers, but through the countless students they influence back home by creating more engaged, informed campuses,” Elliott said.

The Reynolds High School Journalism Institute will take place in the Cronkite School’s state-of-the-art media complex in downtown Phoenix from June 15-27. Other Reynolds institutes for high school teachers will be held this summer at Kent State University, University of Missouri, Columbia, and University of Texas at Austin.

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation is a philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, it has committed more than $150 million to journalism initiatives nationally.

The American Society of News Editors (ASNE), founded in 1922, is dedicated to the leadership of American journalism. ASNE is comprised of top editors, producers and directors at news organizations; deans, directors and endowed chairs at accredited journalism schools; and leaders of journalism foundations and training organizations.

ASNE’s Youth Journalism Initiative, launched in 2000, provides journalism-related training and resources for teachers and students across the curriculum. Its goal is for every student to learn why news matters and acquire the skills needed to succeed as 21st-century citizens. These resources are available to all educators and the public at

2014 Reynolds High School Journalism Institute participants at ASU:

Tracy Anderson, Community High School, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Candace Bagwell, Heritage High School, Frisco, Texas

Lisa Biber, Brodhead High School, Brodhead, Wisconsin

Cynthia Brown, Woodland High School, Stockbridge, Georgia.

Travis Durfee, Watkins Glen Central School District, Watkins Glen, New York.

Silean Eaves, School Without Walls at Francis Stevens, Washington, D.C.

Steffi Floch, Taylorsville High School, Taylorsville, Utah

Kristin Garletts, Rio Rancho High School, Rio Rancho, New Mexico

Kelly Gastman, Roseville High School, Roseville, California

Annie Gorenstein, Arvada West High School, Arvada, Colorado

Becca Hargis, Campbell High School, Smyrna, Georgia

Angela Hobart, Starkville High School, Starkville, Mississippi

Shelley Job, Hanover-Horton High School, Horton, Michigan

Kari Koshiol, Benilde-St. Margaret's, St. Louis Park, Minnesota

Shannon Kuehmichel, Berlin High School, Berlin, Wisconsin

Laura Medina, Montini Catholic High School, Lombard, Illinois

Ginny Miller, Tupelo High School, Tupelo, Mississippi

Jerry Miller, Sparks High School, Sparks, Nevada

Katie Moreno, Seven Lakes High School, Katy, Texas

Kristen Morey, Fremont High School, Ogden, Utah

Sharon Northington, McCracken County High School, Paducah, Kentucky

Bobby Oliver, San Pasqual High School, Escondido, California

Divona Phillips, Irving High School, Irving, Texas

Krystin Pinckard, Mountain Pointe High School, Phoenix

Dana Savage, Innovations Early College High School, Salt Lake City

Luis Senteno, San Diego High School, San Diego

Terry Sheffield, Roy High School, Roy, Utah

Corie Shields, Classical Academy High School, Escondido, California

Jillian Singletary, Harding Fine Arts Academy, Oklahoma City

Cherita Smith, Creative Communications Academy, Calumet City, Illinois

David Strom, North-Grand High School, Chicago

Dave Tow, Terra Linda High School, San Rafael, California

Kenya Vance, Creative Communications Academy, Calumet City, Illinois

Kathryn Wilkins, Kearns High School, Kearns, Utah