ASU hosts journalism entrepreneurship institute for second year

August 9, 2012

Journalism professors from around the country will learn about teaching entrepreneurship at the second annual Scripps Howard Journalism Entrepreneurship Institute at Arizona State University in January.

The institute will bring 12 leading educators to the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication for interactive workshops and seminars that will equip professors with the necessary expertise to infuse journalism entrepreneurship into their own academic programs. Download Full Image

The five-day program is made possible by a grant from the Scripps Howard Foundation, the philanthropic arm of The E. W. Scripps Company, a media corporation that operates 19 television stations and 13 newspapers as well as Washington-based Scripps Howard News Service and worldwide syndication company United Media. The foundation supports efforts that promote excellence in journalism and further journalism education and professional development.

“This will be the second year for the Scripps Howard Journalism Entrepreneurship Institute at ASU,” said Mike Philipps, president and CEO of the Scripps Howard Foundation. “We were so impressed by what ASU accomplished last year that we wanted to continue the program.

“It is critical that we create a generation of journalists with both the core values of journalism and the entrepreneurial spirit needed to reinvent our industry. In order to do that, we need to provide faculty from around the nation with the skills and experience to motivate and challenge their students to become newsroom entrepreneurs.”

Dan Gillmor, director of the Knight Center for Digital Media Entrepreneurship at the Cronkite School, will be the primary instructor for the program. He will be joined by entrepreneurs, investors and other Cronkite faculty in teaching the 12 fellows.

The Knight Center helps journalism students become savvy in digital media technologies and develop entrepreneurial skills appropriate to the new media marketplace. It won the ASU President’s Award for Innovation in 2010, and several of its students have won grants to launch projects they conceived in the lab.

“Tomorrow's journalists will need to understand – and in many cases be part of – the startup culture,” Gillmor said. “Embedding it in journalism education is one way to make that happen, and we're grateful that the Scripps Howard Foundation agrees.”

The Scripps Howard Journalism Entrepreneurship Institute will be held Jan. 2-6, 2013. Training, transportation, lodging, materials and meals will be provided.

To apply for the institute, go to

Reporter , ASU News


ASU MainStage productions receive 15 nominations for ariZoni Awards

August 9, 2012

The ASU School of Theatre and Film in the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts received 15 ariZoni Award nominations for its 2011-12 MainStage season productions.

Professor Guillermo Reyes and Associate Professor William Partlan were nominated for best director and 13 Herberger Institute students were nominated in a host of other categories from production, set design and lighting to sound, music, costume and make-up. The annual awards honor professional and non-professional theatres in the greater Phoenix area. The Misanthrope garnered eight of the 15 ariZoni Award nominations that were received for the ASU MainStage 2011-12 Season. Photo by Tim Trumble of Trumble Photography Download Full Image

The dark, rock-n roll epic The Misanthrope was tapped for eight awards, including Partlan in the categories of Director and Overall Production of a Non-contracted Play. Mary Beth Melvin was nominated for Actress in a Supporting Role and Matt Myers for Actor in a Supporting Role. Rhianna Reardon was named for Costume Design; Wrara Plesoiu was cited for her work in Scenic Design and Andrea Silkey for Sound Design. Jason Steffen was noted for Original Music Composition of The Misanthrope.

Zoot Suit garnered four nominations, with two nods for Actress in a Supporting Role for a Non-contracted Play given to Liana O'Boyle and Shay Webster. Michael Gonzales was cited for his hair and make-up design and Anthony Jannuzzi for his lighting design.

The House of the Spirits received two nominations, one for Brunella Provvidente’s Scenic Design of a Non-contracted Play and the other to Andrea Silkey for Original Music Composition.

Reyes, professor of screenwriting in the ASU School of Theatre and Film in the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts, is being considered in the category of Best Director – Non-contracted Play for his production of American Victory, the story of Olympic wrestling champion Henry Cejudo.

The ariZoni Theatre Awards is a not-for-profit organization devoted to promoting the visibility and growth of theatre in the Phoenix metropolitan area and Maricopa County.

This year's awards event will be Sept. 17 at the Tempe Center for the Arts.

Public Contact: 
For details on the ariZoni Awards, Contact Christi Sweeney at:

Media Contact:
Laurie A. Trotta Valenti 
ASU Herberger Institute 
School of Theatre and Film