Skip to main content

Alumni Association seeks Homecoming award nominees

June 17, 2006

It never hurts to say “thank you” to those who have helped you, and the Alumni Association will be showing its gratitude on Oct. 21 during the halftime of ASU's Homecoming football game against Stanford in a big way: two individuals will be honored for their service to ASU and the association in front of thousands of cheering fans. Faculty and staff are encouraged to tap their knowledge of the alumni and friends of ASU, and submit nominations for the two awards before an Aug. 11 deadline.

The association will present an Alumni Service Award to an alumnus or alumna who has provided distinguished, exemplary and extraordinary service to ASU or the ASU Alumni Association. A non-alum whose contributions have enhanced the stature and success of the university and the association will be honored with the Alumni Appreciation Award.

Both awards have been presented for more than a half-century. Past recipients of the service award include John Bebbling, Charles Stauffer and Terry Goddard; past recipients of the appreciation award include Katherine Gammage, Hugh Long and Edward “Eddie” Basha.

“It pleases us to continue this long-standing tradition,” says Christine Wilkinson, president of the Alumni Association. “Homecoming is the perfect time for alumni and friends of ASU to reconnect with the university, and it is a wonderful time to recognize those in our community who have contributed to ASU's progress.”

Persons interested in making nominations for the awards should visit the Web site ( The Web site contains a nomination form and a listing of past recipients of both awards.

Nominators will be asked to fill out a form about their candidate, and will be required to provide a candidate résumé that lists the nominee's accomplishments, achievements, volunteerism and work history, as well as three letters of recommendation.

These materials can be faxed to Jeff Grant, director of programs and advocacy at the Alumni Association, at (480) 965-0225, or mailed to: ASU Alumni Association, ATTN: Jeff Grant, P.O. Box 873702 , Tempe , AZ 85287-3702 . Intercampus mail should be sent to Jeff Grant at mail code 3702.

The deadline for nominations is Aug. 11. For more information on the awards or the nominations, contact Grant at (480) 965-4078.