Skip to main content

W. P. Carey honors inaugural Dean’s Medalist recipients

29 top business graduates received the new designation

Fall 2023 Deans Medalists pose with W. P. Carey leadership.

Fall 2023 Dean's Medalists pose with W. P. Carey leadership at a luncheon in their honor. Photo courtesy the W. P. Carey School of Business

December 08, 2023

This fall, the W. P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University launched a new recognition program for top W. P. Carey graduates. The “Dean’s Medalist” designation will be given to the top student graduating from every program each semester.

Twenty-nine designees earned the inaugural distinction this fall, and were celebrated at a luncheon on Dec. 5 on the Tempe campus. Ohad Kadan, Charles J. Robel Dean and W. P. Carey Distinguished Chair, shared congratulatory remarks at the celebration.

“We are the largest business school in the United States and also among the top business schools, so this recognition places you as the best among the best,” he said. “The skills you have grown here, from quantitative skills to communication and leadership skills, will serve you in the next chapter, too. We are proud to have you as our ambassadors.”

W. P. Carey additionally recognizes a top graduating undergraduate and graduate student each semester, but wanted to expand the number of students receiving an award.

“We just have so many incredible students who deserve acknowledgement,” said Amy Ostrom, vice dean and PetSmart Chair in Service Leadership. “It is really important to us that students know we recognize the hard work and excellence they have displayed.”

“I am honored to be part of the inaugural class of Dean’s Medalists and excited to soon be a W. P. Carey grad!” said Gatienne Rodriguez, who is earning her Bachelor of Science in marketing.

Andrew Knoebel, the dean’s medal recipient for the Bachelor of Arts in business (communication), is a veteran student who joined W. P. Carey after six years serving in the Navy.

“It is really cool to be recognized and see my hard work, both in the military and at W. P. Carey, culminate in this way,” he said.

The fall 2023 inaugural W. P. Carey Dean’s Medalist recipients are:

  • Chitray (Ray) Eddy, MBA.
  • Ropafadzo (Ropa) Sacirarwe, MS in business analytics.
  • Shrikant Khandekar, MS in supply chain management.
  • Matthew J. Brooks, BA in business (business administration).
  • Omar David Jimenez, BA in business (business administration).
  • Andrew Knoebel, BA in business (communication).
  • Kelvin Hickman, BA in business (corporate accounting).
  • Macy Hayward, BA in business (financial planning).
  • Jingxing Huang, BA in business (global logistics management).
  • Bryce Benedict, BA in business (global politics).
  • John Rebeta, BA in business (health care).
  • Joshua Zackert, BA in business (human resources).
  • Matthew Lesch, BA in business (information security).
  • Daniella Ramirez, BA in business (language and culture).
  • Daniel Doherty, BA in business (law).
  • Colette Pressell, BA in business (retail management).
  • Samantha Ayotte, BA in business (sports business).
  • Emily Engel, BA in business (sustainability).
  • Ann Brunetta, BA in business (tourism).
  • Sage Fanning, BS in accountancy.
  • Madison Russell, BS in business entrepreneurship.
  • Ting Jennings, BS in business data analytics.
  • Bryan Moore, BS in computer information systems.
  • Ashley Rothman, BS in economics.
  • Phillip Konstantinov, BS in finance.
  • Sophia Grace Agus, BS in management.
  • Gatienne Rodriguez, BS in marketing.
  • Ava Swarup, BS in marketing (digital and integrated marketing communications).
  • Keaton Wales, BS in supply chain management.

More Business and entrepreneurship


Photo of a group of people, some of whom hold large novelty-sized checks.

Thunderbird’s annual Pitch Competition fosters entrepreneurialism

The A. Masrin Center for Global Entrepreneurship and Family Business at Thunderbird School of Global Management at Arizona State…

June 07, 2024
Models in colorful clothing pose in an outdoor setting.

Design student turns passion into a prize-winning fashion line

Thanks to her success in combining a passion for fashion with industrial design expertise, graduate student Uzoma Ndulue recently…

June 05, 2024
A line of graduates among different flags

Thunderbird at ASU ranked No. 1 by QS International Trade Rankings for second consecutive year

The Thunderbird School of Global Management at Arizona State University has secured its position as the world leader in…

May 23, 2024