Skip to main content

Arizona PBS, ASU Cronkite School earn Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards

Arizona PBS and the Cronkite School earned 10 Emmys and Student Production Awards at the Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards this past weekend.

November 08, 2021

Arizona PBS and the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University swept up a total of 10 Emmys and Student Production Awards at the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences — in professional categories ranging from arts and entertainment to politics and government, as well as student categories ranging from newscasts to sports.

Arizona PBS took home three Emmys, covering a variety of magazine programs, audio production and interview content. The programs that snagged awards were “Catalyst” and “Plate and Pour.”  Watch Arizona PBS’ Emmy winning programs here.

The “2020 Arizona Senate Debate,” one of Arizona PBS’ most-viewed programs in the station’s history, won first place in the Politics/Government Content category. During the debate, the moderators — particularly Ted Simons of “Arizona Horizon” — were praised for their questions and persistence.

Students at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication earned seven Student Production Awards in six categories this year. The awards recognize the best in collegiate journalism, and since 2009, Cronkite students have won 71 Student Production Awards.

Arizona State University also won an award for Branded Content: Short Form with “Innovation at ASU,” produced by the Office of Media Relations and Strategic Communications.

“I am extremely proud of the performance of the Cronkite School and Arizona PBS in the Emmys competition,” said Cronkite School Dean Battinto L. Batts Jr. “Our success is due to the work of many talented students and professionals who have dedicated themselves to the cause of journalism. It is a privilege to be able to celebrate their achievements this evening.”

Adrienne Fairwell, general manager of Arizona PBS, said, “I couldn’t be prouder of the Arizona PBS team Rocky Mountain Emmy award winners. The award recipients, and those nominated, should be applauded as their work is a true testament to their dedication to Arizonans. This team worked hard during the pandemic of 2020 to produce content that was entertaining, educational and informative. We are very proud to be our communities’ Arizona connection.”

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences honors the art and science of individuals working in television with Emmy Awards, and covers the regions of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and southeastern California.

The 44th Annual Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards were held at the Phoenician.

Arizona PBS and Cronkite School winners are:

Arizona PBS

Technology: Long-Form Content

"Catalyst: Isotopes, Migrants & Mysteries"

Steve Filmer, producer
Vanessa Ruiz, producer

Politics/Government: Long-Form Content

2020 Arizona Senate Debate

Allysa Adams, producer
Ted Simons, host
Lorraine Rivera, host
Yvonne Wingett Sanchez, host
Mike Sauceda, producer
Laarni Fernandez Nuez, producer
Shana Fischer, producer

Interview/Discussion Content

"Plate & Pour: Pass It On"

Margery Punnett, series producer
Melissa Thompson, executive producer
Rebecca Guldberg, producer
Mark Tarbell, producer

Arizona State University

Branded Content: Short Form

"Innovation at ASU"

Joshua Belveal, director/writer/editor/motion graphics
Amy Chou, producer
Safwat Saleem, producer/writer

Cronkite School Student Production Awards


Cronkite News, March 23, 2021

Angel Jimenez, producer

Multimedia Journalist

"FilmBar Saved"

Tyler Manion, reporter

Video Essay

"A Mother’s Journey"

Franco LaTona, reporter

Non-Fiction Short Form

"Gender Pioneer in Arizona"

Tyler Manion, reporter

Sports Story or Segment

"Seated Golfer Prepares for U.S. Disabled Open"

Jordan Spurgeon, reporter

"A Sunrise Prayer on Piestewa Peak"

Sarandon Raboin, reporter

Talent: News or Sports

Zachary Keenan, reporter

Written by Alyssa Gomez

More Law, journalism and politics


Portrait of Elira Canga.

Former Humphrey Fellow returns to ASU Cronkite School for doctorate degree

Elira Canga arrived at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication a couple of years…

February 23, 2024
Portrait of Jemele Hill.

Jemele Hill to deliver lecture on race relations at ASU

Emmy Award-winning journalist Jemele Hill will be the featured speaker at the 2024 A. Wade Smith and Elsie Moore Memorial Lecture…

February 21, 2024
Eli Rosenbaum speaking at a lectern

Retired 'Nazi hunter' on international law as deterrence against war crimes

When it comes to using international law as a deterrent to protect the national security of the United States, is all hope lost…

February 20, 2024