Skip to main content

9 faculty awarded Institute for Humanities Research fellowships

River in Milan, Italy at dusk.

IHR Fellow Serena Ferrando's project "City of Water" is a case study for the need to harness the enduring might of poetry to generate, sustain and promote collective narratives for the protection of nonhuman aquatic environment within Milan, Italy. Photo courtesy of Unsplash

May 03, 2021

The Institute for Humanities Research (IHR) at Arizona State University has awarded fellowships to eight ASU faculty for the 2021–22 academic year. 

The faculty and their respective projects are as follows:

These fellows will be the first to experience the reimagined fellows program. The new program includes enrollment in the National Council for Faculty Development and Diversity's Faculty Success Program, which provides faculty with the skills needed to increase both research and writing productivity while maintaining a healthy work-life balance. 

“The new IHR Fellows program is focused on faculty development. It enables dedicated time for writing, research and public humanities work,” said Institute for Humanities Research Associate Director and Desert Humanities Director Ron Broglio. 

“Additionally, by partnering with the National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity, the fellowship offers guidance in writing, managing the multiple tasks of faculty life and professionalizing for future success.”

Fellowship recipients also receive one course buyout and $1,000 in research funds.

“As the new director for the IHR, this is my first time in reviewing and reading the applications. So while I can't compare to any other cohort, I was impressed by the originality and innovation of the projects,” said new Institute for Humanities Research Director Nicole Anderson. 

“I am delighted that the IHR can enable these projects to come to fruition.”

Applications were reviewed by a panel of faculty from The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Division of Humanities. The institute is thankful for the efforts of this committee, which included Chouki El Hamel, Devoney Looser, Calvin Schermerhorn, Hava Tirosh-Samuelson and Michael Tueller.

More Arts, humanities and education


A graphic image of a robot seated in a chair, reading a physical book.

Generative AI in the humanities classroom

Since the public launch of ChatGPT in late 2022, media has reported on both the “death of the essay” and the possibilities for an…

February 29, 2024
A still image of a Zoom screen with multiple users.

Online program provides intercultural experience for ASU, Japanese students

Japanese instructor Hiroko Hino of Arizona State University's School of International Letters and Cultures takes an innovative…

February 29, 2024
A woman stands reviewing documents on a table in front of her.

Reclaiming a lost history

Editor’s note: This is part of a monthly series spotlighting special collections from ASU Library’s archives throughout 2024.…

February 27, 2024