Skip to main content

Women's track named All-Academic Team of the Year

July 15, 2007

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State University women's track and field team garnered a pair of academic honors from the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association as the Sun Devils were named a 2007 USTFCCCA Division I All-Academic Team as well as being selected as the 2007 USTFCCCA Women's All-Academic Indoor and Outdoor Team of the Year. The 2007 NCAA Indoor and NCAA Outdoor Champions, ASU's selection was based on a combination of athletic and academic achievements throughout the year, according to the USTFCCCA.

"Our program is a reflection of our student-athletes and our student-athletes are a reflection of our program," Head Coach Greg Kraft said. "We take a tremendous amount of pride in having a balanced program from the fall season through the spring season. Our student-athletes understand that having balance in our program will only strengthen our team. And by having balance in their life, they will only strengthen their life. I know it sounds cliché, but a champion is a 24/7 lifestyle. We would be selling our student-athletes short if we allowed them to settle for just being an athlete."

The Sun Devil roster accumulated a 3.13 grade-point average during the year and placed 10 of its women on the USTFCCCA All-Academic Team after each student-athlete recorded at least a 3.25 or higher GPA and qualified provisionally or automatically for the NCAA Indoor Championships or meet the NCAA Outdoor regional standard for their respective events. Added to the honors was the distinction of 2007 USTFCCCA National Indoor Scholar-Athlete of the Year which was given to Sarah Stevens, the 2007 NCAA Indoor Shot Put Champion.

Along with Stevens, the following Sun Devil women earned individual academic honors from the USTFCCCA last week: Brooke Bennett, Becky Holley, Ali Kielty, Jenna Kingma, April Kubishta, Anna Masinelli, Corey Randall, Lissa Regets and Angela Spadafino.

In all, 97 different Division I Women's track & field programs were recognized as 2007 USTFCCCA All-Academic Teams.