Skip to main content

Tillman, Henshaw and Pitts named to 75th Anniversary All-Sun Bowl Team

July 07, 2008
Arizona State University football legends Hascall Henshaw, Wayne Pitts and Pat Tillman have been named to the 75th Anniversary All-Sun Bowl Team, the Sun Bowl Association announced Monday, July 7.

They are three of 75 players being honored to commemorate the anniversary of the nationĀ¹s second oldest bowl game.

"The Sun Bowl Association has a long history of providing a quality postseason bowl game experience for players, coaches, administrators and fans," Association President Joe E. Valenzuela said. "These 75 players reflect that experience and those memories. This is a way for the Sun Bowl to honor those who have left those lasting memories for El Pasoans, as well as fans everywhere."

Henshaw and Pitts were members of the Arizona State Bulldog teams that went to back-to-back Sun Bowls in 1940 and 1941. Henshaw set a then-NCAA record in the 1941 game for longest rush from scrimmage with a 94-yard touchdown run in the second quarter. He finished the game with 147 yards on 29 carries and was named to the 1941 All-American Bowl Team.

Pitts was a three-way player for the Bulldogs, seeing action on offense, defense and special teams in his two Sun Bowl appearances. He totaled 121 rushing yards on 27 attempts in the two games and caught a touchdown pass in the 1941 game, all the while helping out on defense and serving as the team's punter.

Tillman helped the Sun Devils to a 17-7 victory over Iowa in the 1997 Sun Bowl as a senior. He collected eight tackles, half of a sack, three quarterback hurries and one pass break-up in leading ASU to its first bowl win in 10 seasons. Tillman, who led a defense that limited Iowa to just 19 rushing yards in the game, was a 2004 inductee into the Legends of the Sun Bowl.