Skip to main content

Four Sun Devils named to College World Series Legends Team

May 06, 2010

As part of the commemoration of the final Series in Omaha's Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium, the NCAA and College World Series, Inc., have announced the official College World Series Legends Team.

The 28 members of the Legends Team, pared down from an original list of 95 nominees, were selected after more than 100,000 votes were cast by college baseball fans, college baseball writers and Division I head baseball coaches. The members of the Legends Team are former student-athletes and coaches who had the best CWS performances throughout the 60 years the event has been played at Rosenblatt Stadium.

Voting for the team was based solely on the former student-athletes' performance when they were competing in the NCAA College World Series, and not for any regular season or post-collegiate performances.

Four Sun Devils were named to the team: Eddie Bane, Sal Bando, Barry Bonds and Bob Horner. Arizona State has made 21 appearances in the College World Series, winning five National Championships.

Bane played at Arizona State from 1971 to 1973, pitching in the College World Series in both 1972 and 1973. He is ASU's all-time strike out leader and is the only Sun Devil to throw a perfect game. He was a two-time All-American and had his number retired at ASU in 2000. Bane struck out 32 batters in three starts, two complete game victories, in his College World Series career, earning All-CWS honors in 1973.

Bando was a Sun Devil in 1964 and 1965, going to Omaha both years. He was the Most Outstanding Player of the 1965 College World Series when Arizona State won its first National Championship. Bando had his number retired at ASU in 1996.

Bonds played at ASU from 1983 to 1985 before going on to become Major League Baseball's Home Run King. He played in the College World Series in 1983 and 1984, setting a CWS record with a hit in seven consecutive at-bats. He earned All-College World Series Team honors both seasons. The seven-time National League Most Valuable Player had his number retired by Arizona State in 1993.

Horner played for the Devils from 1976 to 1978, winning the first ever Golden Spikes Award in 1978. Horner and the Sun Devils went to Omaha all three years he played, winning the 1977 National Title. Horner was named the Most Outstanding Player that year, and was named to the All-CWS team in 1978. His number was retired by ASU in 1996.

The 28 CWS Legends Team members will be invited to attend the final College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium as guests of the NCAA. The members will be formally honored on-field during the CWS Opening Ceremonies on June 18, and invited to attend the first day of CWS competition on June 19. Mock baseball cards of each member featuring their collegiate photos will be posted on