Skip to main content

Four ASU women's golfers named to All-Pac-10 team

April 22, 2010

Four members of the Arizona State University women's golf team have been selected to the All-Pac-10 team, announced Commissioner Larry Scott. The members of the All-Conference team were selected by a vote of the league's coaches.

The Sun Devils had three members named to the First-Team, the most out of any school in the conference. Carlota Ciganda earned her second consecutive First-Team All-Conference honor. The sophomore All-American became the first back-to-back Pac-10 Champion yesterday and has six top 10 finishes this season.

Senior Juliana Murcia was also named to the First-Team for the second straight year. Showing consistent leadership all year, Murcia has recorded six top 10 finishes, including four in the top three. Along with last year's first-team recognition, she was named to the Pac-10 Second-Team her freshman year.

Jennifer Johnson was the lone freshman on the First-Team. Johnson, who is arguably one of the nation's most promising amateurs, has only finished out of the top 10 in two tournaments this season. Jaclyn Sweeney earned Second-Team accolades after being named honorable mention last season.

The Sun Devils will find out their regional assignment on Monday.

First Team
Carlota Ciganda, Arizona State
Jennifer Johnson, Arizona State
Juliana Murcia, Arizona State
Stephanie Kono, UCLA
Sydnee Michaels, UCLA
Jennifer Song, USC
Lizette Salas, USC
Margarita Ramos, Arizona

Second Team
Joanne Lee, California
Tiffany Lua, UCLA
Sally Watson, Stanford
Isabelle Boineau, Arizona
Jaclyn Sweeney, Arizona State
Brianna Do, UCLA
Rebecca Durham, Stanford
Kendra Little, Oregon

Honorable Mention
Cyna Rodriguez, USC
Belen Mozo, USC
Glory Yang, UCLA
Sherylynn Popelka, Arizona
Pia Halbig, California
Kristina Wong, Stanford