Skip to main content

Five Devils in NCAA Wrestling Championships brackets

March 10, 2010

2010 NCAA Wrestling Championships Brackets (pdf)

The brackets for the 2010 NCAA Wrestling Championships, along with at-large qualifiers, were announced by the Association on Wednesday evening with five members of the Arizona State University wrestling team learning who they will face when action opens Thursday, March 19, inside the Qwest Center in Omaha. Four of the Sun Devils in the field - Anthony Robles (125), Ben Ashmore (133), Chris Drouin (141) and Te Edwards (157) - automatically qualified for the NCAA event based on their finishes at the Pac-10 Wrestling Championships while one Sun Devil, Erik Nye (heavyweight), was an at-large selection.

Robles (28-2), a returning All-American after placing fourth last year, will enter the 2010 tournament as the No. 4 seed and will face Ross Gitomer (18-13) of Virginia in the first round. Robles, who won the Pac-10 title at 125 pounds for the second year in a row to earn his place among those competing in Omaha next week, has not faced Gitomer in his career.

Ashmore (18-12), in his first year in the Sun Devil line-up after transferring in from Oklahoma State, will open with seventh-seeded Mike Grey (35-6) of Cornell in the first round. The fourth-place finisher in the Pac-10, Ashmore is competing in his first NCAA event and also will meet Grey for the first time in their 133-pound match.

At 141 pounds, Drouin (20-11) returns to the national meet and will look to build upon his sixth-place, All-American showing from 2009 as he meets eighth-seeded Alex Krom (20-5) of Maryland in the first round. Oddly enough, the last time Drouin was on the mats at the national championships, he dropped a 4-0 decision to Krom to finish sixth.

The third-place finisher in the Pac-10 at 157, Edwards (14-11) is making his national debut and will take on Jake Kerr (11-9) of Iowa in the opening round. Edwards and Kerr have not met before.

The final Sun Devil in the field is Nye (21-13), who opens his first NCAA appearance against Eddie Bordas (32-7) of Rider in the opening round. Nye and Bordas have met once before and that came in the second round of this year’s Las Vegas Invitational where Bordas won, 3-2, in the overtime tie-breaker.

The Championships run March 18-20 in Omaha. The first two sessions of competition take place on Thursday, March 18, starting at 11 a.m. CT and 6:30 p.m. CT. On March 19, ESPNU will carry live action of both sessions with start times of 9:30 a.m. CT and 6:30 p.m. CT. The final day of action (March 20) will see ESPNU cover the morning session starting at 10 a.m. CT while ESPN will broadcast the finals at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Arizona State at the 2010 NCAA Wrestling Championships
Opening Round Matches
125 - #4 Robles vs. Ross Gitomer (Virginia)
133 - Ashmore vs. #7 Mike Grey (Cornell)
141 - Drouin vs. #8 Alex Krom (Maryland)
157 - Edwards vs. Jake Kerr (Iowa)
285 - Nye vs. Eddie Bordas (Rider)