Skip to main content

Baseball's Oddibe McDowell to be inducted to College Baseball Hall of Fame

February 23, 2011

Oddibe McDowell has been named to the 2011 induction class for the College Baseball Hall of Fame, the College Baseball Foundation announced today. McDowell brings the total number of Sun Devils in the Hall of Fame to seven, joining coaching legends Bobby Winkles and Dr. Jim Brock as well as former Golden Spikes Award winner Bob Horner, pitchers Eddie Bane, Floyd Bannister and shortstop Alan Bannister.

McDowell will enter the Hall of Fame with fellow 2011 inductees Terry Francona (Arizona), Danny Goodwin (Southern University), Dick Groat (Duke), Ralph Waldo Emerson Jones (Grambling State), Tim Wallach (Cal State Fullerton) and Bill Wilhelm (Clemson).

The 2011 inductees will be honored on July 3 in Lubbock, Texas as a part of the College Baseball Foundation's annual celebration of the greatest players in the past and present of college baseball.

McDowell was a standout in the outfield for the Sun Devils from 1983 to 1984 and played for 2007 College Baseball Hall of Famer Jim Brock. He was a career .380 hitter with 30 home runs and 31 doubles. In 1984, he hit .405 with 23 home runs, a performance that earned him the Golden Spikes Award. That same year McDowell was named Player of the Year by both Collegiate Baseball and Baseball America. He also was a two-time All-American and was the first Sun Devil to have his number retired.

Over 300 candidates were originally submitted for consideration by universities and CBF members. Players are eligible for the College Baseball Hall of Fame ballot five years after the student-athlete's final collegiate season, not to include any active player or coach on a professional baseball team roster. Former players must have made an All American team or an All League team during at least one year at a four-year institution. Coaches are eligible after ending their collegiate career, not to include an active coach on a professional baseball team. They must have achieved 300 career wins, or have won at least 65% of their games.