Skip to main content

Baseball falls to Oregon State in series final

May 24, 2010

Box Score

Oregon State defeated the No. 3 Arizona State University baseball team 9-8 in the series finale on Sunday at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark. The Sun Devils are 45-7 overall, 18-6 in the Pac-10, after the loss.

The game was a back-and-forth affair, as Oregon State jumped on top early with two runs in the first and three more in the second against ASU starter Jake Borup. However, the Sun Devils began to cut into their deficit in the third, as Drew Maggi brought in a run on a groundout and Kole Calhoun and Riccio Torrez then hit back-to-back solo home runs. For Calhoun, it was his 13th of the season and third in the three-game series with the Beavers.

Jordan Swagerty brought ASU within a run with an RBI single in the fourth, and the Devils then took the lead in the fifth when Riccio Torrez scored on a wild pitch and Johnny Ruettiger hit a solo home run.

Oregon State answered in the seventh, getting four runs against reliever Brady Rodgers to take a 9-6 lead. Rodgers came into the game in the second and retired 13 of the first 14 batters he faced, but the Beavers finally broke through against him in the seventh.

A solo home run by Zach Wilson and an RBI single by Swagerty in the seventh brought the Sun Devils back within one again.

In the bottom of the ninth, Maggi doubled with two outs, but Zack MacPhee flew out to end the game.

Oregon State's Tyler Waldron got the win and Kraig Sitton earned the save by pitching the final 2.1 innings. Rodgers took the loss to fall to 3-3.

The Sun Devils will conclude their regular season with a three-game series at Stanford beginning on Thursday.