Skip to main content

ASU to host 2009 NCAA Baseball Tournament Regional

May 24, 2009

hree-time defending Pac-10 Champion Arizona State baseball has been selected as one of 16 regional host sites for the 2009 NCAA Baseball Championships, the NCAA announced today. This is the third consecutive season Arizona State has been selected to host and the 19th time in school history.

Arizona State won the 2009 Pac-10 Championship, and they are 43-12 overall, 20-6 in the Pac-10, entering Sunday's regular season finale against UCLA.

The four-team, double-elimination regional will be played at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark on the ASU campus May 29 through June 1. The No. 1 seed will play the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed will play the No. 3 seed starting Friday. The brackets for the field of 64, as well as game times for the Tempe Regional, will be announced Monday morning at 9:30 a.m. on ESPN.

This will be the fourth time in the last five years that Packard Stadium will host an NCAA Regional. ASU has hosted both Regionals and Super Regionals in each of the past two seasons.

General Public All Session tickets will be available for purchase beginning Tuesday at 9 a.m. in person at the Sun Devil Ticket Office or over the phone at 480-727-0000. Single game tickets will go on sale Wednesday morning at 9 a.m. and can be purchased in person, over the phone or online at

Customers who pre-ordered tickets can pick them up at the Sun Devil Ticket Office beginning at 9 a.m. on Tuesday morning.

The Sun Devils will be making the 33rd NCAA Tournament appearance in school history and 10th straight postseason appearance.

2009 NCAA Baseball Championships Regional Host Sites
Tempe, Ariz. (Arizona State)
Atlanta, Ga. (Georgia Tech)
Austin, Texas (Texas)
Baton Rouge, La. (LSU)
Chapel Hill, N.C. (North Carolina)
Clemson, S.C. (Clemson)
Fort Worth, Texas (Texas Christian)
Fullerton, Calif. (Cal State Fullerton)
Gainesville, Fla. (Florida)
Greenville, N.C. (East Carolina)
Houston, Texas (Rice)
Irvine, Calif. (UC Irvine)
Louisville, Ky. (Louisville)
Norman, Okla. (Oklahoma)
Oxford, Miss. (Mississippi)
Tallahassee, Fla. (Florida State)