Skip to main content

ASU faculty receive Centennial Professorship Award for community service

April 10, 2015

Three professors at Arizona State University have been selected to receive the 2014-2015 Centennial Professorship Award.

Created by the Associated Students of ASU, the award is given out to reward community service and to compensate, recognize and encourage excellent teaching and leadership in and out of the classroom.

Joseph Blattman, from the School of Life Sciences, was selected for his dedication to the community and teaching methods that distill the biology of the immune system into an engaging and comprehensible format for students.

Sara Brownell, also from the School of Life Sciences, was selected for her continued commitment to employing active, translatable student-centered teaching approaches.

Jacquelyn Scott Lynch, from Barrett, the Honors College, was selected for her motivated contribution to and dedication in molding scholar citizens through collaborative, interdisciplinary learning.

Professors Panagiotis Artemiadis, in the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering and Patricia Murphy, in the College of Letters and Sciences, were selected as honorable mentions.

The Associated Students of ASU will officially announce the 2014-2015 Centennial Professorship Awards April 14 at the ASU Art Museum on the Tempe campus. The event begins at 11:30 a.m. and will include a short program and lunch. Attendees must RSVP by April 10.