Skip to main content

ASU alumna selected as PhysTEC Teacher of the Year

headshot of ASU alum Melissa Girmscheid

Melissa Girmscheid, PhysTEC Teacher of the Year

September 30, 2020

ASU alumna Melissa Girmscheid has been selected as a local PhysTEC Teacher of the Year. The PhysTEC Teacher of the Year program recognizes outstanding educators who prove how valuable and effective preparation programs are for physics teachers.  

This award recognizes Girmscheid as an exemplary teacher. Monica Plisch, PhysTEC project director, and Beth Cunningham, executive officer, said, “Melissa’s contributions to physics education are significant and impactful on the students, colleagues, school district and state at a time when the nation is in desperate need of qualified physics teachers.”

Girmscheid received her Bachelor of Arts in education and secondary education (math/physics) in 2000. In 2014 she received her master’s degree in natural science. Girmscheid is currently a physics teacher at Tolleson Union High School District and also serves as the vice president of the American Modeling Teachers Association.

PhysTEC is a partnership between the American Physical Society and the American Association of Physics Teachers.

More Arts, humanities and education


Collage of illustrations from short stories

ASU collaborates with Horizon 2045 to explore a post-nuclear existence in 'Far Futures'

By Bob Beard For nearly a century, nuclear deterrence theory — a paradoxical concept that nuclear weapons somehow make the world…

June 13, 2024
People sit facing each other at tables in a classroom setting

Maryvale students tackle community challenges through public policy lens in statewide showcase at ASU

Local middle school students saw their civics lessons go beyond textbooks as they proposed real policy solutions at a recent…

June 11, 2024
Woman stands on a stage flanked by two high school students.

ASU Gammage celebrates young Valley artists at high school musical theater awards

High school graduates Max Perez and Nora Palermo were awarded Best Lead Male and Best Lead Female at the 2024 ASU Gammage High…

June 10, 2024