Skip to main content

Leaders from across US named as 6th cohort of Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership

November 28, 2018

Thirty-seven senior leaders from more than two dozen universities, including University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Indiana University, Purdue University and the University of California at Merced, have been selected as fellows in the sixth cohort of the Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership, co-hosted by Arizona State University and Georgetown University.

The eight-month program, which began Nov. 12 and takes place at Georgetown and ASU, focuses on preparing the fellows to lead organizational change at colleges and universities.

During four intensive sessions in the District of Columbia and Tempe, Arizona, fellows at the academy will be introduced to the latest thinking and research about change leadership, teaching and learning in a digital age, external challenges facing higher education and the financial sustainability of institutions.

Participants also will apply the principles of “design thinking” to reimagine the future of higher education. A mix of seminars, hands-on workshops, design sessions and fireside chats with leading thinkers from various industries will help the fellows prepare for leading innovation at their own institutions.

Academy faculty members represent a cross section of higher-education scholars and leaders from other sectors of the economy that are facing similar challenges.

This year’s fellows are:

  • Mark J. Antonucci, chief of staff, ASU Foundation
  • Melissa Beckwith, vice president for strategy and innovation, Butler University
  • Carrie A. Berger, associate dean for research, Purdue University
  • Richard J. Bischoff, associate vice chancellor for faculty and academic success leader success, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Pamela Anthrop Cavanaugh, associate vice provost, University of Central Florida
  • Steven H. Davidson, associate dean, Questrom School of Business Boston University
  • Stephen M. Duffy, associate provost, Texas A&M International University
  • Kelly Gagan, vice president for advancement, Nazareth College
  • David Gard, assistant vice president for economic development, Indiana University
  • Erin Golembewski, senior associate dean, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Amy Goodburn, senior associate vice chancellor and dean of undergraduate education, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Deborah Helitzer, dean, College of Health Solutions, ASU
  • Jerry Eugene Johnson Jr., assistant vice president, research and sponsored programs, University of Houston-Downtown
  • Adanna J. Johnson, senior associate dean of students and director of diversity, equity and student success, Georgetown University
  • Jean Kelso Sandlin, associate dean, California Lutheran University
  • Ann Kovalchick, associate vice chancellor and chief information officer, University of California at Merced
  • Gwen Landever, academic dean, University of Saint Mary
  • Paul W. Layer, vice president for academics, students and research, University of Alaska
  • Tiffany Lopez, professor and director, School of Film, Dance and Theatre, ASU
  • Maureen Jane MacDonald, dean of science, McMaster University
  • Linda McMillin, provost, Susquehanna University
  • Mary J. Meixell, associate dean, School of Business, Quinnipiac University
  • Shaily Menon, dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Saint Joseph’s University
  • Karen Miner-Romanoff, assistant dean of academic excellence, NYU
  • Amy L. Ostrom, PetSmart chair in service leadership, W.P. Carey School of Business, ASU 
  • David D. Page, vice president for enrollment management, Dillard University  
  • Karen Pedersen, dean, Global Campus, Kansas State University
  • Jeffrey L. Ray, dean, College of Engineering and Technology, Western Carolina University
  • Jack Rice, director, school of education, Loyola University Maryland
  • Jason Schupbach, director, The Design School, ASU
  • Heather J. Shipley, vice provost of academic affairs and dean of University College and interim chief online learning officer, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Lisa L. Templeton, associate provost, Oregon State University
  • Patricia Thatcher, associate vice president of academic affairs, Misericordia University
  • Derrick L. Tillman-Kelly, director, UIA Fellows Program and Network Engagement, University Innovation Alliance
  • Melissa Canady Wargo, chief of staff, Western Carolina University
  • Lynn Perry Wooten, dean, Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management, Cornell University
  • Abbey Zink, dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Sam Houston State University

For more information, go to

Written by Jeff Selingo, executive director of the Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership and special adviser to President Crow.

More Arts, humanities and education


Sanford School Dean's Medalist Diana Nguyen smiling in front of a lake

Sanford School Dean’s Medalist passionate about serving families, community

Editor’s note: This story is part of a series of profiles of notable spring 2024 graduates. Helping families and children…

April 17, 2024
Palo Verde Blooms

Sociology student passionate about preventing domestic and gender-based violence

Editor’s note: This story is part of a series of profiles of notable spring 2024 graduates. With so many diverse career options…

April 17, 2024
ASU Wind Symphony seated on a concert stage

ASU Wind Symphony’s performance at regional conference motivates, inspires

ASU Wind Symphony students describe their recent performance at the College Band Directors National Association, or CBDNA,…

April 16, 2024