Skip to main content

From brain connections to memories: ASU psychology graduate student wins National Science Foundation fellowship

Blake Elliott, graduate student in ASU Department of Psychology

Blake Elliott, a graduate student in the Department of Psychology at ASU, will use his NSF Fellowship to study how memory works. Photo by Robert Ewing

April 19, 2018

Blake Elliott, a graduate student in the Department of Psychology at Arizona State University, has received a Graduate Research Fellowship from the National Science Foundation (NSF). The prestigious fellowship funds Elliott’s tuition and stipend for three years and provides research funds. Elliott uses magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to study how connections within the brain contribute to what we remember.

It was a breakfast burrito that started Elliott on the path to wanting to know about connections between neurons, which are the cells that make up the brain, and human behavior. A track-and-field coach at his high school bought Elliott the burrito while talking about running competitively.

“Success on the track changed my life. It motivated me to keep improving, which caused me to train harder and smarter,” Elliott said. “I began reading everything I could on kinesiology, exercise physiology, nutrition and sports psychology.”

Elliott’s love of running fast introduced him to science and eventually landed him at ASU as a star member of the track team and an undergraduate psychology student. Elliott finished his collegiate running career last year when he began working toward his doctorate in psychology.

“When I was an undergraduate student at ASU, I became interested in how we can remember things that are valuable to us,” he said. “As a graduate student, I decided to use MRI methods that measure brain activity and map brain pathways to look at how the brain tracks value and uses it when we remember.”

To study what role brain connections play in memory, Elliott had to connect two research labs in ASU’s Department of Psychology. Elliott works with Gene Brewer, associate professor of psychology, in the Memory and Attention Lab and with Samuel McClure, associate professor of psychology, in the Decision Neuroscience Lab.

Brewer’s lab studies memory, and one area of focus is how the brain uses its limited resources to remember what is most relevant, important or useful.

“We cannot remember all the events and details of our lives,” Brewer said, “and we need signals that let us know something is important or relevant and is a priority to remember.”

Scientists think the dopamine system broadcasts signals in the brain that indicate an event or detail is valuable enough to remember. McClure’s lab studies the role of the dopamine system in decision-making by using mathematical models and by developing new human neuroimaging methods.

“Dopamine monitors how valuable something is to us. It tracks the value of everything, from cheeseburgers to abstract goals, and sends those value signals throughout the brain,” McClure said. “The goal of my work with Blake and Gene is to link the value signal to memory formation in the brain.”

Elliott will use the MRI scanner to create a map of the connections between brain areas where dopamine is made and brain areas where memories are formed. Working with McClure and Brewer, Elliott will compare the strength of those connections with value signals from mathematical models of memory formation.

“It is rare that you can find a link between a complex behavior, such as memory, and individual connections in the brain,” McClure said. “Pursuing this link is what makes Blake’s research innovative.”

More Science and technology


A large bluish-white planet in space.

ASU scientists help resolve 'missing methane' problem of giant exoplanet

In the quest to understand the enigmatic nature of a warm gas-giant exoplanet, Arizona State University researchers have played a…

May 20, 2024
Digital rendering of cells.

Study finds widespread ‘cell cannibalism,’ related phenomena across tree of life

In a new review paper, Carlo Maley and Arizona State University colleagues describe cell-in-cell phenomena in which one cell…

May 20, 2024
A machine in the Instrument Design and Fabrication Core Facility

ASU now certificated to build sensitive aerospace, defense instruments in-house

When Christopher Groppi needs a new tool for work, he can’t just go to the hardware store. Groppi is an experimental…

May 20, 2024