Skip to main content

Award ceremony recognizes outstanding students from ASU's School of Molecular Sciences

2017 SMS Award Ceremony Group Picture

ASU award ceremony recognizes outstanding students.

April 21, 2017

Arizona State University's School of Molecular Sciences recently held its annual Awards and Recognition Ceremony for outstanding students and their families at the Memorial Union on ASU's Tempe campus. The ceremony recognized undergraduate and graduate students who excelled in academics and research.

Eight achievement awards and five scholarships were presented to the most talented and deserving undergraduate students from the school's 1,200 chemistry and biochemistry majors. The fall 2016 and spring 2017 Dean's medal winners were also recognized. Each award was presented by a faculty member selected by the awardee, who also gave a short summary of their achievements and accomplishments.

Also celebrated were outstanding graduate student researchers, including the LeRoy Eyring Memorial Fellowship in Chemistry George Yuen Memorial Award, and the school's most impactful student teaching assistants. The Distinguished Instructor and Student Associates of the American Chemical Society Distinction of Merit and Scholastic Occupation Faculty Teaching Awards were also presented.

These awards and scholarships recognize the talent and hard work of the recipients, and also provide financial support that allows them to focus on their learning and academic progress, and this is certainly appreciated by the students.

“Considering how women remain underrepresented in STEM fields, being awarded this scholarship has positively impacted my college career by reminding me that, no matter the gender, there are very thoughtful and generous people who want to help ASU students succeed,” said Shannon Sipes, this year's Therald Moeller Scholarship winner. 

Full list of award and scholarship recipients:

  • George M. Bateman Memorial Scholarship: Lily Wayne
  • SAACS Organic Achievement Award: Kimberly Kevershan
  • ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Undergraduate Award: Logan Tegler
  • ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Undergraduate Award: Victoria Woner
  • ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Award: Julia Torline
  • Therald Moeller Scholarship: Shannon Sipes
  • Distinguished Chemistry Merit Award: Joshua Rabinowitz
  • Distinguished Biochemistry Merit Award: Capria Rinaldi
  • Wayne W. Luchsinger Chemistry Scholarship: Guadalupe Batista
  • Arizona Society for Coatings Technology Scholarship: Hoang Nguyen
  • Royal Society of Chemistry Certificate of Excellence: Grant Severson
  • School of Molecular Sciences Scholarship: Kimberly Kevershan
  • Dean’s Medal, Fall 2016: Havell Markus
  • Dean’s Medal, Spring 2017: Patrick Almhjell
  • LeRoy Eyring Memorial Fellowship in Chemistry: Brian Wadsworth
  • George Yuen Memorial Award: Diana Khusnutdinova
  • Outstanding Graduate Research Assistant Award: Shaojiang Chen, Chengchen Guo, Fan Hong, Kristin Johnson, Morteza Moghimi Waskasi, Anasuya Pal and Kirtland Robinson
  • Distinguished Teaching Assistant Award: Patrick Almhjell, Steven Bentson, Jie Ding, Zahra Bahrami Dizicheh, Deborah Hernandez, Diana Khusnutdinova, Nikita Kumari, Colton Meyer, Rachel Ozeran, Donell Schmacht and Meng Wang
  • Distinguished Instructor Award: Timothy Lamb
  • Distinction of Merit and Scholastic Occupation (DMSO) Teaching Award: Alexander Green

More University news


Charla Griffy-Brown

Charla Griffy-Brown named director general and dean of Thunderbird at ASU

As Thunderbird School of Global Management enters its 10th year as part of Arizona State University, a new decade welcomes the…

June 19, 2024
ASU Research Park waterfall sign

ASU Research Park celebrates 40 years of collaboration, innovation

The Arizona State University Research Park celebrates its 40th anniversary this year as the university’s original Innovation Zone…

June 18, 2024
Group photo of 2024 Arizona Nutrition College Bowl participants.

How College of Health Solutions faculty, alumni rebuilt the College Nutrition Bowl

By Aidan Hansen When Lindsay Gnant first participated in the Nutrition College Bowl as an Arizona State University undergrad in…

June 14, 2024