Skip to main content

ASU, McGraw Hill announce McGraw Prize in Education winners

ASU students work with McGraw to design prize

ASU students from the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts, Miguel Cardona and Chase Young, work with Harold (Terry) McGraw III, former Chairman and CEO of The McGraw-Hill Companies, center, to design this year's McGraw Prize in Education. (Credit: Fervor Creative)

March 03, 2016

Today, Arizona State University and McGraw-Hill Education announced the winners of the 2016 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education, which honors outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education through innovative approaches.

Honorees receive an award of $50,000, in addition to what has become one of the most prestigious educational awards since its founding in 1988.

This is the first year that McGraw-Hill Education partnered with ASU, and also the first year it has ever solicited nominations from the public.

“ASU is proud to be a part of this partnership that honors outstanding innovators in education,” said ASU President Michael Crow. “From increasing access to education to incorporating technology in the classroom, this year’s winners have tacked some of the biggest challenges facing educators around the globe. Each of them provides an example of success from which we all can learn.”

Phil Regier, university dean for educational initiatives and CEO of ASU EdPlus, also noted that the new alliance for the prize was a perfect fit.

“ASU is at the forefront of educational innovation, and we both believe in the power of technology to increase access to education and enhance the learning experience. It’s a great partnership.”

ASU’s partnership doesn’t stop there. Two ASU students from the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts, Miguel Cardona and Chase Young, worked directly with Terry McGraw, former chairman and CEO of McGraw Companies, to design this year’s physical award that the honorees will receive.

The Prize dinner and ceremony will be held at the ASU GSV Education Innovation Summit in San Diego on April 19, honoring the 2016 winners:

• Anant Agarwal, CEO of edX, will receive the U.S. Higher Education prize as an outstanding leader of the development of the Massive Open Online Course movement, which has helped make possible the education of millions of students around the world.

• Alberto M. Carvalho, superintendent of the Miami-Dade school district, will receive the U.S. K-12 prize for his exemplary leadership in raising standards and improving graduation rates in a complex urban district, which is an outstanding model for others.

• Sakena Yacoobi, CEO of the Afghan Institute of Learning, will receive theInternational Education prize for the transformational effect her work has had on communities in Afghanistan, particularly in education for girls and women, and how she has inspired others to follow suit.

“These three winners are extraordinary educational leaders who will inspire the next generation of learners around the world,” said Harold (Terry) McGraw III, former chairman and CEO of The McGraw-Hill Companies. “We are proud to have them join the other illustrious recipients of the McGraw Prize in Education.”

“Anant, Alberto, and Sakena have changed the lives of millions of students,” said David Levin, president and CEO of McGraw-Hill Education. “Their accomplishments and innovation should be lauded and shared with others who are working to make a difference around the world.”

Media interested in the prize can contact:

Carrie Lingenfelter,
EdPlus at Arizona State University

More Arts, humanities and education


A graphic image of a robot seated in a chair, reading a physical book.

Generative AI in the humanities classroom

Since the public launch of ChatGPT in late 2022, media has reported on both the “death of the essay” and the possibilities for an…

February 29, 2024
A still image of a Zoom screen with multiple users.

Online program provides intercultural experience for ASU, Japanese students

Japanese instructor Hiroko Hino of Arizona State University's School of International Letters and Cultures takes an innovative…

February 29, 2024
A woman stands reviewing documents on a table in front of her.

Reclaiming a lost history

Editor’s note: This is part of a monthly series spotlighting special collections from ASU Library’s archives throughout 2024.…

February 27, 2024