Skip to main content

New cohort selected for Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership

November 04, 2015

Twenty-nine senior leaders from more than two dozen universities have been selected as fellows in the second cohort of Academy for Innovative Higher Education Leadership, co-hosted by Arizona State University and Georgetown University.

The eight-month program, which begins Nov. 9 and takes place at Georgetown and ASU, focuses on preparing the fellows to lead organizational change at colleges and universities.

During four intensive sessions in the District of Columbia and Tempe, Arizona, fellows at the academy will be introduced to the latest thinking and research about change leadership, teaching and learning in a digital age, external challenges facing higher education and the financial sustainability of institutions.

Participants also will apply the principles of “design thinking” to re-imagine the future of higher education, and will focus on a real-world project during the program. A mix of seminars, hands-on workshops, design sessions and fireside chats with leading thinkers from various industries will help the fellows prepare for leading innovation at their own institutions.

Academy faculty members represent a cross-section of higher education scholars and leaders from other sectors, such as health care and the military, that are facing similar challenges.

For more information, go to

The fellows in the second cohort include:

Elizabeth Adams
Associate Vice President
Undergraduate Studies
California State University, Northridge

Paul Atchley
Associate Dean
Online and Professional Education
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
University of Kansas

Mitchell Bailin
Associate Vice President and Dean of Students
Law Center
Georgetown University

Ellen Beaulieu
Vice President for Strategic Initiatives
University of New England

Lisa Camp
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives
Case School of Engineering
Case Western Reserve University

Laura Cavender
Executive Director Strategic Communications
University of Pennsylvania

Maria Cimitile
Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs
Grand Valley State University

Adrienne Davis
Vice Provost of the University
William M. Van Cleve Professor of Law
Washington University in St. Louis

Linda T. Elkins-Tanton
Director of the School of Earth and Space Exploration
Arizona State University

Jennifer Evans-Cowley
Vice Provost for Capital Planning
and Regional Campuses
The Ohio State University

Stephen Feinson
Associate Vice President
ASU Global, Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development
Arizona State University

Ryan N. Goodwin
University Innovation Alliance Fellow
University of Central Florida

Gregory L. Heileman
Associate Provost
University of New Mexico

Patrick Hughes
Associate Vice Provost
Undergraduate Education
Office of the Provost
Texas Tech University

Charles Isbell
Senior Associate Dean
College of Computing
Georgia Institute of Technology

John Kotwicki
Associate Vice President for Tax
Special Assistant to Vice President and Treasurer
Georgetown University

Elke M. Leeds
Associate Vice President
Technology Enhanced Learning
Academic Affairs
Kennesaw State University

Scott Marshall
Vice Provost for Academic and Fiscal Planning
Portland State University

Emily F. Morris
Vice President for University Relations
St. Bonaventure University

Juan S. Munoz
Senior Vice President and Vice Provost
Texas Tech University

Eric R. Muth
Interim Associate Dean for Research
College of Business and Behavioral Sciences
Professor of Psychology, Psychology Department
Clemson University

Thomas Payne
College of Business
Tennessee Technological University

Noah Pickus
Associate Provost and Senior Advisor to the Provost
Nannerl O. Keohane Director of the Kenan Institute for Ethics
Associate Research Professor of Public Policy Studies at the Sanford School of Public Policy
Duke University

Kevin Reynolds
Vice President Finance and Administration
Portland State University

Chad Tindol
Deputy General Counsel
Director of Risk Management
The University of Alabama System

Irem Y. Tumer
Associate Dean
Research and Economic Development
College of Engineering
Oregon State University

Elizabeth Wentz
Dean of Social Sciences
Professor of Geography and Urban Planning
School of Geographical Sciences and Urban Planning
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Arizona State University

Jennifer Wisdom
Associate Vice President for Research
George Washington University

Kay N. Wolf
Vice Provost of Academic Policy and Faculty Resources
Office of Academic Affairs - College of Medicine
School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences
The Ohio State University

More University news


Man working with machinery on the deck of a boat.

ASU offers degrees to shape thriving ocean futures

Nearly half of the world’s population lives within 200 km of a coastline and depends on marine and coastal biodiversity for their…

May 15, 2024
Photo of 2024 FUKSI winner Jack Hinrichs

ASU honors student to study in Scotland under prestigious Fulbright Summer Institutes program

The Lorraine W. Frank Office of National Scholarships Advisement has announced that John “Jack” Hinrichs, a first-year economics…

May 14, 2024
Professor with students points to map in lab

ASU in top 1% of international university ranking list

Arizona State University has been ranked in the top 1% of nearly 21,000 universities worldwide for education, employability,…

May 13, 2024