Home / Sun Devil Shelf Life / Sacrificial Smoke
Cover of Sacrificial Smoke translated by Robert Bjork
November 2020
Jules William Press

College or Unit:

Sacrificial Smoke

Book Three of the Viking Slave Trilogy
Jan Fridegard
Translated by: 
Robert E. Bjork

Steeped in myth and pagan ritual, the Viking Slave Trilogy is Sweden’s greatest saga of the Viking Age. The three volumes in the series − "Land of Wooden Gods," "People of the Dawn" and "Sacrificial Smoke" – recount the sensual but often cruel demands of the gods Odin, Thor and Frey. An epic of warrior chieftains and their slaves or "thralls," the trilogy explores belief in the Norse gods while digging deep into the combative world and sacrificial rituals of Old Scandinavia. "Sacrificial Smoke," the third book in the trilogy, follows the life journey of Holme, now a master warrior and leader. Holme and Ausi face choices and dangers, as they contend with Christian missionaries in the face of the great sacrifices and ritual orgies at the pagan temple of Uppsala. Jan Fridegard is one of Sweden’s foremost authors. The Viking Slave Trilogy is his most famous work. For more information visit www.juleswilliampress.com


Robert E. Bjork is a Foundation Professor of English at Arizona State University.