Home / Sun Devil Shelf Life / Land of Wooden Gods
Cover of Land of Wooden Gods translated by Robert Bjork
November 2020
Jules William Press

College or Unit:

Land of Wooden Gods

Book One of the Viking Slave Trilogy
Jan Fridegard
Translated by: 
Robert E. Bjork

Steeped in myth and pagan ritual, the Viking Slave Trilogy is Sweden’s greatest and most accurate saga of the Viking Age. The three volumes in the series − "Land of Wooden Gods," "People of the Dawn" and "Sacrificial Smoke" – recount the sensual but often cruel demands of the gods Odin, Thor and Frey. An epic of warrior chieftains and their slaves or "thralls," the trilogy tests belief in the Norse gods while digging deep into the combative world and sacrificial rituals of Old Scandinavia. "Land of Wooden Gods," the first book in the trilogy, introduces Holme, a boy enslaved, who grows into a skilled weapon-smith and dangerous warrior. Holme never accepts his status as a thrall. When he risks his life to save his child and his lover from a chieftain’s wrath, Holme is forced onto a journey through the rival pagan and Christian landscapes of Viking Sweden. His saga is unforgettable. Jan Fridegard is one of Sweden’s foremost authors. The Viking Slave Trilogy is his most famous work. For more information visit: www.juleswilliampress.com


Robert E. Bjork is a Foundation Professor of English at Arizona State University.