Skip to main content

Wrestling ends skid, defeats Bakersfield on the road

January 30, 2012

The Arizona State University wrestling team ended an eight-dual losing skid Sunday, dropping CSU Bakersfield, 24-17, in the final conference road dual of the season for the Sun Devils at the Icardo Center in Bakersfield, Calif.

ASU (6-10, 2-2) split the matches in the dual at five apiece with the Roadrunners, but logged each of its victories with bonus points to hold on for the final margin. It was a refreshing sight for a team that has come so close in numerous duals this season only to see bonus points from the other squad keep the Sun Devils without a W in the record column.

Senior Eric Starks got things rolling for ASU at 174 pounds with a 15-6 major decision over Brady Garner to put ASU up 4-0 right off the bat.

Redshirt freshman Kevin Radford scored his fourth consecutive victory at 184 pounds as he also scored a 15-4 major decision over Reuben Franklin to give ASU to 8-0 edge early.

After a CSUB decision at 197 pounds, Levi Cooper got back into the win column with a pin at the first-period buzzer over Frankie Hurtado in the heavyweight bout for his 21st  victory of the season, leading all Sun Devils.

Leading 14-3 at that point, CSUB got a major decision at 125 pounds with Tyler Iwamura defeating Lucio Murrilo in the true freshman’s first ever collegiate contest, 9-0.

Frank Lomas earned a decision over Shane McGough at 133 pounds to bring the Roadrunners back within 14-10.

Redshirt freshmen Nathan Hoffer quickly put an end to that run with a pin in 2:14 over Dalton Kelley at 141 pounds and Kyle McIntosh added a major decision over Erik Martinez at 149 pounds, 10-1, to effectively put the match away for the Sun Devils.

The Sun Devils will return home next weekend for the final dual of the 2012 season as the squad will face Stanford on Sunday, Feb. 5 for Senior Day, beginning at 2 p.m. PST

Arizona State 24, CSU Bakersfield 17

174: Eric Starks (AS) def. Brady Garner, 15-6

184: Kevin Radford (AS) def. Reuben Franklin, 15-4

197: AC Brown (CSUB) def. Chace Eskam, 8-3

285: Levi Cooper (AS) pins Frankie Hurtado @2:59

125: Tyler Iwamura (CSUB) def. Lucas Murillo, 9-0

133: Frank Lomas (CSUB) def. Shane McGough, 8-4

141: Nathan Hoffer (AS) pins Dalton Kelley, @2:14

149: Kyle McIntosh (AS) def. Erik Martinez, 10-1

157: Anthony Box (CSUB) def. Joel Smith, 12-7

165: Adam Fierro (CSUB) def. Rush Hall, 10-2