Skip to main content

Stars of literary world to teach at writing conference

October 06, 2010

Desert Nights, Rising Stars, Arizona State University’s Writers Conference, will be back for the eighth year March 3-6.

Nearly two-dozen well-known, award-winning writers, such as Gretel Erlich (PEN Henry David Thoreau Award), Tony Hoagland (Mark Twain Award for Humor in American Poetry), Cynthia Hogue, Naeem Murr, Andrea Barrett (National Book Award, MacArthur Fellow), Robert Boswell and David Shields will be on the faculty.

The conference, sponsored by ASU’s Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing, offers writers of all levels the chance to hone their craft in the classroom with distinguished writers, dialoguing with them during classes, readings and other events.

The conference begins the evening of Thursday, March 3, with an opening banquet and the introduction of faculty. Friday and Saturday will begin with a keynote talk for all participants, followed by discussion classes and master classes.

Afternoons will feature faculty readings and a combination of classes, panels and multi-faculty question-and-answer sessions. The day will conclude with faculty readings and book-signings.

Sunday will include readings and a panel discussion on how to sustain focus and growth.

Participants can expect an experience that is intimate and affordable, such as the master classes, which will offer five hours of instruction, spread over three days, in groups of no more than 10.

General registration for the conference is $350 ($315 early-registration discount through Oct. 31).

The fee for Piper Friends is $315 ($280 by Oct. 31). 

ASU faculty, staff and students, ASU MFA alumni and Arizona teachers is $280.
Master class tuition is $125 (conference registration required). Piper Friends may register for master classes for $100.

Master-class tuition for ASU faculty, staff, students, ASU MFA alumni and Arizona teachers is $100 (conference registration required).

Piper Friends membership is $50.

Manuscripts for master classes must be submitted between Jan. 1 and Feb. 1. If a manuscript is not received by Feb. 1, the master class Master Class registration will be cancelled without refund. Late applicants for master classes can join a waiting list in case of cancellations.

For more information, and to register, go to or call (480) 965-6018.

Media Contacts:
Tom McDermott,
(480) 727-0818

Judith Smith,
(480) 965-4821

Conference Faculty:
Tiffany Atkinson

Andrea Barrett
Robert Boswell
Gretel Ehrlich
Beckian Fritz Goldberg
Tony Hoagland
Cynthia Hogue

Tara Ison
Victor Lavalle
Naeem Murr
Antonya Nelson

Jem Poster

David Shields

Connie Voisine
C. Dale Young

Also participating:
Sally Ball
Jay Boyer
Rus Bradburd
Norman Dubie
Lucy Hawking
T.R. Hummer
T.M. McNally
Sean Nevin
Laura Newbern
Melissa Pritchard
Jewell Parker Rhodes
Alberto Rios
Jeannine Savard
Peter Turchi