Skip to main content

Squires receives high honor from leading physicists group

November 24, 2008

Kyle Squires, chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering in the Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering, has been elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the world’s second largest organization of physicists.

Election to Fellow is recognition by peers of outstanding contributions to physics. Squires achievement is in fluid dynamics, specifically for his role in the discovery of mechanisms creating concentration fluctuations of inertial particles in turbulent flow, and fundamental contributions to the computational modeling of wall turbulence in complex geometrics.

Squires’ expertise encompasses fluid mechanics science and engineering, transport phenomena, thermodynamics and energy. His research involves computational fluid dynamics, turbulence modeling of single-phase and multi-phase flows, and high-performance computing. Through this work he explores ways to improve the aerodynamics of aircraft, ground vehicles and sports equipment.

His work in simulation and modeling in these areas has advanced basic understanding of many of the processes that govern particle-laden turbulent flows. That work has in turn improved models used in engineering applications.

Squires’ research in modeling the flow around complex geometries has advanced the state-of-the-art in computational fluid dynamics. Models developed by Squires and his collaborators are used in commercial computer software employed by industry.

The American Physical Society limits its Fellowship selections to no more than one half of one percent of its approximately 46,000 members. A formal citation of Squires’ election will be published in the March 2009 issue of APS News. Squires joined the Arizona State University faculty in 1997 as an associate professor and was appointed to full professor in 2003. He also has held numerous visiting professor appointments in Japan, Europe and the United States. He earned a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Stanford University in 1990.