Skip to main content

Reynolds Fellows learn journalism fundamentals

June 22, 2010

Thirty-four high school teachers from around the country are participating in an intensive journalism boot camp at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The ASNE Reynolds High School Journalism Institute prepares teachers to help students make sound news and ethical judgments; produce stronger reporting, writing, visuals and multimedia elements; and practice with a greater understanding of the First Amendment and the essential role of a free press in democracy. It is being held at the Cronkite School in downtown Phoenix from June 13-25.

Made possible by a grant from the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and administered by the American Society of News Editors, the five Reynolds Institutes held nationally recruit from schools in urban and rural areas where journalism programs are under the most stress. Hundreds applied this year, and participants were selected competitively.

This year’s speakers include: Milton Coleman, current ASNE president and Washington Post senior editor; Rick Rodriguez, a former ASNE president who is the Cronkite School’s first Carnegie Professor specializing in Latino and transnational news coverage; and Gregory Favre, another former ASNE president and a distinguished fellow at the Poynter Institute for Media Studies in St. Petersburg.

Participants are learning from other Cronkite School faculty as well as leading Arizona journalists and a representative of the Student Press Law Center.

Steve Elliott, a professor of practice and director of digital news for Cronkite News Service, leads the instruction, assisted by Alan Weintraut, media adviser at Annandale High School in Annandale, Va., and the 2006 Dow Jones Teacher of the Year.

Other Reynolds Institutes will be held this summer at Kent State University, the University of Missouri at Columbia, University of Nevada at Reno and the University of Texas at Austin.

The 34 teachers studying at the Cronkite School are:

• Julie Albertson, Roncalli High School, Indianapolis
• Zachary Anderson, Indian River High School, Philadelphia, N.Y.
• Jerry Appel, Chaparral High School, Chaparral, N.M.
• Sam Bidleman, Bloomsburg High School, Bloomsburg, Pa.
• Bracinda Blum, Woodbine High School, Woodbine, Iowa
• Meghan Brannon-Reese, East Early College High School, Houston
• Chris Braun, Reedley High School, Reedley, Calif.
• Kelly Camak, Gateway to College Early College High School, Riverside, Calif.
• Alyssa Carnley, Harrison High School, Kennesaw, Ga.
• Malika Caruthers, Metro Tech Vocational Institute of Phoenix, Phoenix
• Allison Denman, Spring High School, Spring, Texas
• Lisa Edmisten, Woodcreek High School, Roseville, Calif.
• Michelle Evenson, Eden Prairie Senior High School, Eden Prairie, Minn.
• Donna Fishel, Willard High School, Willard, Mo.
• Sarah Geyer, South Doyle High School, Knoxville, Tenn.
• Jenese Giles, Northeast High School, Oakland Park, Fla.
• Clarence Hooker, Hinds County Agricultural High School, Utica, Miss.
• Kimberly Isbell, Humboldt High School, Humboldt, Kan.
• Jessica Kahlfeldt, Turner High School, Kansas City, Kan.
• Ryan Ludwig, Spanish Springs High School, Sparks, Nev.
• Brent Manuel, Pleasant Valley High School, Chico, Calif.
• Jamalee Moret, Alhambra High School, Phoenix
• Leona O'Neal, George County High School, Lucedale, Miss.
• Jamie Ray, Vista Ridge High School, Cedar Park, Texas
• Jodie Schommer, Lakeside Lutheran High School, Lake Mills, Wis.
• Laura Schwinn, Emporia High School, Emporia, Kan.
• Nathan Thompson, Montezuma-Cortez High School, Cortez, Colo.
• Kim Vinh, Sequoia High School, Redwood City, Calif.
• Kellie Wagner, Hartford Journalism and Media Academy, Hartford, Conn.
• Tracey Ward, Olentangy Liberty High School, Powell, Ohio
• Elaine Williams, Carl F. Shuler High School, Cleveland
• Nunn Winship, Warden High School, Warden, Wash.
• Leslie Wolfe-Cundiff, Centennial High School, Roswell, Ga.
• Nicki Yokota, St. Margaret's Episcopal School, San Juan Capistrano, Calif.