Public events look at memory, countermemory

October 27, 2011

The research symposium “Memory & Countermemory; Memorialization of an Open Future,” begins with public two public events.

From 2 to 5 p.m., Oct. 31, there will be two films and a discussion in West Hall room 135 on ASU’s Tempe campus. Download Full Image

Shown will be “The Conscience of Nhem Em” (2008) and “A Film Unfinished” (2010). Martin Matuštík will lead a discussion of the films.

“The Conscience of Nhem Em” deals with a survivor-photographer from Tuol Sleng Prison in Cambodia under the Khmer Rouge, while the second is about the Nazi propaganda film made in the Warsaw Ghetto.

On Nov. 4, the film “Estamira” (2004) will be shown from 4-6:30 p.m. in The Kiva on ASU’s West campus. Gabriele M. Schwab will lead a discussion. The film was made by Marcos Prado, who said of it, “I met Estamira while developing a photo documentary essay at a garbage dump in Rio de Janeiro, where she was working and living. I approached her asking if I could take her portrait. She consented and told me she had lots of ‘things’ to say to me: ‘my mission is to reveal and reclaim the truth’; ‘ you are common, I am not.’”

A public session also will take place Nov. 7, when Cathy Caruth of Cornell University delivers the keynote address, “Literature in the Ashes of History,” at 8 p.m. in University Center Building, La Sala, at ASU’s West campus.

From 5:30-9 p.m., Nov. 8, in The Kiva at ASU’s West campus. That will include a screening of the film “Jubanos” and a one-hour dramatic reading of the play “Parted Waters” by Robert Benjamin. Performing will be members of the Arizona Jewish Theatre Company. Monica Casper will lead an audience discussion following the reading.

The concluding event will be a reading by Simon J. Ortiz and Gabriele M. Schwab from their unpublished book, “Children of Fire, Children of Water,” at 5 p.m., Nov. 9, in The Kiva at the West campus. Moderator will be Native American writer Leslie Marmon Silko.

For a complete conference schedule, including other public sessions, go to The public events are free, but an R.S.V.P. is requested by clicking on RSVP form on the website.

Alumni Association hosts autograph sessions with Kush-era football players

October 27, 2011

ASU football fans will be able to celebrate the university’s excellence on the gridiron on Oct. 29, when Sun Devil alumni players who played during the Coach Frank Kush era will appear in the 2011 Homecoming Parade and participate in autograph sessions in front of Old Main during the pre-game Homecoming Block Party.

Nearly 200 players who played for Kush, who coached at ASU from 1958 to 1979, will be returning to the Tempe campus from around the country to pay tribute to the legendary coach and to celebrate great moments in ASU football. The players also will participate in the Oct. 28 Legends Luncheon, which is dedicated this year to honoring the Kush football era. Download Full Image

During the Homecoming Block Party, there will be four autograph sessions, each lasting 30 minutes. Players will be grouped by the eras in which they played at ASU (see below for schedule and players expected to attend). The first session will begin at the start of the Block Party at 12:30 p.m., and the final session will conclude at 2:30 p.m. Kick-off for the Homecoming game, which pits ASU against the University of Colorado Buffaloes, is slated for 3:30 p.m.
Sun Devil Campus Stores will have tents set up next to the autograph session area for fans wishing to purchase merchandise to be signed by the players. Fans also may bring items of their own for the players to sign; the Alumni Association encourages a limit of one item per person.


Session 1, 12:30-1 p.m.: 1970-1974

Players and Coaches expected to attend:  Junior Ah You, Clifton Alapa, James Baker, Deke Ballard, Wayne Bradley, James Brady, Bob Carter, Michael Clupper, Randall Collett, Glenn Crawford, Juan “Paco”  Cruz, Roger Davis, Oscar Dragon, Donald Ekstrand, Alonzo Emery, George Endres, Paul Ervin, Edwin Fisher, David Grannell, Stephen Gunther, Stephen Hale, Windlan Hall, James Heilig, J.D. Hill, Tim Hoban, Charley Hobbs, Stephen Holden, Greg Hudson, Grady Hurst,  Rick Hunsaker, Sam Johnson, Ed Kindig, Dan Kush, Ron Lou, Ron Lumpkin, Benny Malone, Steve Matlock, Brent McClanahan, Prentice McCray, Charles Moore, Sal Olivo, David Orzell, Morris Owens, Joe Petty, Mark Radovich, Bob Raths,  Bruce Sedlak, Kory Schuknecht, Larry Shorty, Neal Skarin, Gerald Slemmer, Harold Slemmer, Joe Spagnola, Bob Speicher, Alexander Stencel, Richard Tate, Michael Tomco, Gary Tolmachoff, Danny White,  John Vandevier, Kevin Woudenberg. Coaches: David Arslanian, Al Tanara.

Session 2, 1-1:30 p.m.: 1975-1979

Players and Coaches expected to attend:  David Adrian, Kim Anderson, Pris Avalos,  David Barthel, Tim Baumgarten, Jerry Bell, Gregory Blakes, Bob Breunig, Darren Comeaux, James Denton, Norman Ehasz, Charles Epperson, Brian Felix Darrell Gill, Buzz Grider, Al Harris, John Harris, Mike Haynes, Steven Hicks, John Jefferson, Bubba Jones, Colonial Jones, Dan Jones, Randal Kaufman, Bob Kohrs, Dan Kush, Arthur Lane, Chris Lorenzen, Andre McGant, John Michel, John Mistler, Fred Mortensen, Gary Padjen, Joe Peters Robert Pfister, Stan Robinson, Willie Scroggins, Mike Seivert, Dan Smith, Dennis Sproul, Gary Padjen, Marcus Watts, Fred Williams, Raye Williams, Gary Winchester. Coaches: Larry Kentera, Craig Millbranth.

Session 3, 1:30-2 p.m.: 1965-1969

Players expected to attend: Max Anderson, Michael Chowaniec, Kenneth Coyle, Curley Culp, Jerry Daniels, Tom Delnoce, Daniel Dunn, Mike Fanucci, Dennis Farrell, Nick Ferrara, Dan Forey, Ed Gallardo, Richard Griffin, Ben Hawkins, Fair Hooker, Jim Kane, Jim Kelley, Michael Kennedy, Richard Mann, Bill Marsh, Jim McCann, Mike Messenger, Ted Olivo, Jonathan Perry, Wes Plummer, Paul Powell, Ron Pritchard, Bob Rokita, Ed Roseborough, John Ruffner, Herm Serignese, Jim Shaughnessy, Raymond Shirey, Rich Sica, Steve Timarac, Gary Venturo.

Session 4, 2-2:30 p.m.: 1958-1964

Players and Coaches expected to attend:  Rockne Anderson, John Avianantos,  James Bramlet, Butch Brest, Leon Burton, Ron Cosner, Richard Davis, Gino Dellalibera, Raul Disarafino, Ron Erhardt, Lawrence Facchine, Steve Fedorchak, Dale Keller, John Folmer, Lt. Gen. (Ret.) John Goodman, Herman Harrison, Ben Hawkins, Alonzo Hill, Darrell Hoover, Dale Keller, Kenneth Kerr, Karl Kiefer, Charles Kolb, Chuck Krofchik, Michael Krofchick, Joe Kush, John McFalls, Robert Minitti, Bobby Mulgado, Richard Napolitano, Robert Noel, Larry Laughlin, Joseph Parham, Ray Prokopchak, Lawrence Reaves, Robert Rembert, Fred Rhoades, Leland Rice Desi Sanchez, John Seedborg, Gerald Szostak, Steve Turkovich, Paul Widmer, Robert Widmer. Coaches: Joe McDonald.

The Homecoming Block Party and the autograph sessions hosted by the Alumni Association are free and open to the public. For information on other Homecoming-related activities, visit