President's Awards honor ASU innovators, outstanding staff

In recognition of ASU employees' efforts and achievement, ASU President Michael Crow presented select employees with President's Awards at a reception April 18. Among the awards were the President’s Award for Innovation, the President’s Award for Sustainability, the President’s Medal for Social Embeddedness, and Top Multiple SUN Awards for Individual Excellence – all part of the 2011-2012 Employee Recognition Program.

Additionally, more than 1,300 faculty and staff celebrated milestone anniversaries this year, including 167 employees who received awards for service, as they celebrated 25-, 30-, 35-, 40- and 45-year anniversaries.

The Office of Human Resources coordinated the event.

President's Award for Innovation

The President's Award for Innovation provides formal recognition to ASU teams that have made significant contributions to ASU and higher education through the creation, development, and implementation of innovative projects, programs, initiatives, services, and techniques.

Camp Game
Camp Game provides a comprehensive understanding of the video game production pipeline with emphasis on Level Design, Video Game Art and Game Programming. It educates students on the inner-workings of the video game industry by using state-of-the-art game tools and technologies. After attending Camp Game, students understand the value of a well-rounded education and the need to focus on science and math for earning a career in the game industry.

CTI iProjects Program
The College of Technology and Innovation’s iProjects Program engages large numbers of CTI students in solving external partner’s problems. Such engagements result in students’ creative solutions to real-world problems, helps embed CTI within the community and industry, and creates authentic practice-oriented learning experiences for students that result in increased competencies and, often, employment by the external sponsor.

... read full story


President's Award for Sustainability

The President's Award for Sustainability recognizes ASU teams that have demonstrated excellence in fostering the successful development, implementation, and promotion of sustainability principles, solutions, programs, and services in the teaching, learning, research and business missions of the University.

Farmers Market @ the Tempe campus
The Farmers Market @ the ASU Tempe campus is a biweekly open-air market held at the Tempe campus on Orange Mall to promote healthy eating and sustainability among students, faculty and staff. The market program fills the need of both the ASU and the larger Tempe communities by providing options for locally grown and produced food in a convenient, central location easily accessible by public transportation.

Sustainability Cities Network
The Sustainable Cities Network is designed to be a bridge between ASU’s research and technical capabilities in sustainability and the front-line challenges facing cities. The network is a vehicle for sharing knowledge and coordinating efforts to understand and solve problems.

... read full story

President's Medal for Social Embeddedness

The President's Medal for Social Embeddedness recognizes ASU teams that have demonstrated excellence in fostering mutually-supportive partnerships with the community to identify a community need and to co-create and implement a solution that leads to positive social change in the community and in the research, teaching, and service practices of ASU.

The Teaching Foundations Project
The Teaching Foundations Project is a cross-institutional effort to significantly enhance the preparation of future elementary teachers.  This project believes that great learners make great teachers.  Through collaboration with the broad educational community of Arizona, ASU’s Teaching Foundations Project provides a pathway for undergraduates to experience rigorous, inquiry-based learning.

... read full story

SUN Award for Individual Excellence

• Linda Searcy, senior business manager, Health Solutions, Business Services.

• Anne Suzuki, assistant dean, Enrollment Services, New College, Student Success.

• Garret Westlake, director, Disability Resource Center, Educational Outreach and Student Services.

• Avery Wright, senior grant & contract officer, Office for Research and Sponsored Project Administration.

Linda Uhley
Office of Human Resources