Skip to main content

Oklahoma City University's president to speak at Pedrick lecture

February 24, 2011

Oklahoma City University President and CEO, Robert Henry, will give the fifteenth annual Willard H. Pedrick Lecture at 12:15 p.m., March 3, in the Great Hall of Armstrong Hall at the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law.

Free tickets are available at

Henry, who is also a former Chief Judge for the U.S. Court of Appeal’s Tenth Circuit, will speak on justice in our society and the theory’s inclusion in literature. More specifically, Henry will talk about one of literature’s first explorations of justice in the story of the plains of Mamre.

“Justice – In America, we have a Department of it, our Declaration of Independence laments that King George obstructed the administration of it, and our great Constitution of 1789 preambles that we should establish it,” Henry said. “Literature informs our search for justice, and this lecture examines one of literature’s first explorations of the subject.”

Henry was appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in 1994 and became chief judge in 2008. Henry stepped down from the post in July 2008 to become president of Oklahoma City University where he had previously served as a professor and dean at the university’s law school. Henry is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and a member of the Board of Directors for the VERA Institute of Justice.

The lecture is hosted by the Pedrick family, which was established in 1997 in memory of the founding dean of the College of Law. The annual lecture brings to the law school outstanding legal scholars, jurists or practitioners to enrich the intellectual life of the College and the community.

Previous lecturers and their titles at the time were:

2009-10: U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor

2008-09: The Honorable Harry T. Edwards, Senior Circuit Judge and Chief Judge Emeritus, U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit

2007-08: U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer

2006-07: Martin D. Ginsburg, Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center

2005-06: Sir Neil MacCormick, Regius Professor of Law, University of Edinburgh

2004-05: Mary M. Schroeder, Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

2003-04: Frederick Schauer, Frank Stanton Professor of the First Amendment, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

2002-03: Lee C. Bollinger, President, Columbia University

2001-02: Ronald Dworkin, Frank H. Sommer Professor of Law, New York University Law School

2000-01: Yale Kamisar, Clarence Darrow Distinguished University Professor of Law, University of Michigan

1999-2000: Martha A. Field, Langdell Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

1998-99: Andrew D. Hurwitz, Esquire, Osborn Maledon, P.A.

1997-98: Kathleen M. Sullivan, Stanley Morrison Professor, Stanford University

1996-97: Robert Post, Professor, University of California Berkeley, and Benjamin Barber, Professor, Rutgers University

Staci McCabe,
(480) 965-8702
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law