Nominations sought for 'Excellence in Diversity Awards'

<p>The Campus Environment Team (CET) at Arizona State University’s West campus is seeking nominations for the 14th annual “Excellence in Diversity Awards.”  The awards recognize West campus faculty, students and staff who have demonstrated exceptional service in the area of cultural diversity.</p><separator></separator><p>The deadline for nominations is March 20.  Nominations and supporting materials can be emailed to <a href="/"></a> or sent via campus mail to Kathy Gunn, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences, Mail Code 1251.</p><separator></separator><p>“These awards underscore the value that ASU places on cultural diversity and on the efforts of individuals and units to incorporate diversity in all areas of campus life,” says Delia Saenz, ASU provost for undergraduate education.  “The awards highlight the different ways that inclusion, as a guiding principle, can reap benefits in the workplace as well as the classroom.”</p><separator></separator><p>The awards were established in 1996 to recognize members of the campus community and their commitment to diversity.  The awards – presented in four categories in 2009 – recognize the commitment and dedication of those who promote and maintain an atmosphere of diversity on campus and in the surrounding community.  Since 1996, 35 individuals and organizations have been recognized by the West campus CET.</p><separator></separator><p>“Contributions to inclusion are as important as contributions to research, academics, athletics and more,” says Saenz.  “The awards identify valuable contributions across the full range, from actions taken at the individual level to programmatic efforts undertaken at the unit level.</p><separator></separator><p>“It is appropriate to take the time to honor the champions of inclusion because it reinforces their efforts and sends a strong message about our institutional priorities.”</p><separator></separator><p>All academic professionals, classified staff, faculty, service professionals, administrators and students at the West campus are eligible.  Awards will be given in four categories – faculty, staff, student and group.  Criteria include a group or individual’s continuous commitment to cultural diversity, sponsorship or participation in culturally diverse activities, promotion of cultural diversity in all aspects of campus life, and respectful treatment of all individuals.</p><separator></separator><p>Award winners will be recognized at a West campus event to be scheduled in April.</p><separator></separator><p>For more information, contact Sharon Smith, CET chair and director of the TRiO Academic Achievement Center, 602-543-8116.</p>