Skip to main content

No. 1 softball takes home 15 All-Conference Honors

May 19, 2011

Click here for a complete listing of all Sun Devil Pac-10 Coaches of the Year in all sports!


In a vote of the league's eight head coaches, the 2011 All Pac-10 team was selected and released Wednesday afternoon which saw Pac-10 Champions, ARIZONA STATE take home 15 awards, including freshman Dallas Escobedo who was named the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and Clint Myers was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year. Also included in the major awards were: STANFORD junior Ashley Hansen was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year and earned the batting champion title and CALIFORNIA sophomore Jolene Henderson was named the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year.

Hansen, a native of Chandler, Ariz., was named to the Pac-10 First Team All-Conference squad for the third time in her career. The Player of the Year honor is the first for the junior shortstop who is putting up career numbers for the Cardinal this season. She leads the conference in nearly every individual offensive statistic and was named the Pac-10 Batting Champion with a league-leading .506 batting average. She also leads in slugging percentage (.833), on base percentage (.568), hits (88), doubles (24) and total bases (145). As one of 10 finalists for the USA Softball Player of the Year award, Hansen's batting average is the highest in the nation and her average of .45 doubles per game is tops in the country. She is also ranks second in the toughest to strikeout category, as in 174 at bats she has only struck out four times. The junior already ranks among the top-10 in school history in career hits, doubles, triples, RBI and runs scored. 

Henderson burst onto the scene as a sophomore after a stellar freshman campaign, as she was named to the All-Freshman team. She earns her first Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year honor as she has taken the ball in an incredible 277.1 innings this year and she leads the conference with a .81 ERA. The Elk Grove, Calif., native has fanned 276 batters this season and has a 34-7 record in 43 appearances. Her impressive performances granted her five Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week honors this season. Her .81 ERA ranks third nationally. 
Escobedo, a Glendale, Ariz., native and highly touted recruit, she has had a standout freshman campaign, earning her the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honor. She is 27-3 in 40 appearances this season and ranks second in the Conference with a 1.40 ERA. Escobedo has also amassed 248 strikeouts, second-best in the Conference. Her efforts earned her two Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week honors this season, including one in her first weekend of collegiate play. She also won USA Softball Player of the Week honors as she debuted with a 4-0 record, including two wins over ranked opponents at the Kajikawa Classic in Tempe, Ariz. 

Washington senior shortstop Jenn Salling wins her first Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year honor. The Port Coquitlam, B.C., native ranks in the top-10 with 102 assists on the season. She has 88 putouts so far in 2011 and boasts a .969 fielding percentage. Her athleticism from the shortstop position helped her turn six double plays. 

Myers, in his sixth season at the helm for the Sun Devils earns his second career Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor after leading Arizona State to its second softball conference crown in school history. He coached the squad to an impressive 50-6 record overall and 17-4 in Conference. The squad finished the regular season as the top team in both the NFCA/USA Today and Softball polls. They earned the No. 1 overall seed in the 2011 NCAA Tournament under the leadership of Myers. 

Katelyn Boyd -Jr. - INF - Arizona State
Brigette Del Ponte - So. - INF - Arizona
Dallas Escobedo - Fr. - P - Arizona State
Kellie Fox - Fr. - INF - UCLA
Teagan Gerhart - So. - P - Stanford
Ashley Hansen - Jr. - INF - Stanford
Andrea Harrison - Jr.  - OF/INF - UCLA
Jolene Henderson - So. - P - California
Brittany Lastrapes - Sr. - OF - Arizona
Jessica Moore - So. - P - Oregon
Kimi Pohlman - Jr. - OF - Washington 
Jamia Reid - Jr. - OF - California
Jenn Salling - Sr. - INF - Washington 
Niki Williams - Jr. - UTIL - Washington 

Kaylyn Castillo - Sr  -C - Arizona State
Stacie Chambers - Sr. - C -Arizona
GiOnna DiSalvatore - Sr. - INF - UCLA
Krista Donnenwirth - Sr - INF - Arizona State
Kenzie Fowler - So. - P - Arizona 
Monique Fuiava - Sr. - UTIL - Oregon 
Kaitlyn Inglesby - Fr. - P - Washington 
Annie Lockwood - Jr - OF - Arizona State
Sarah Hassman - Jr - OF - Stanford 
Jenna Rich - So. - INF - Stanford 
Lesley Rogers - Sr - OF - Arizona State 
Lauren Schutzler - Sr.  - OF  - Arizona
Jace Williams - Jr  - OF - California 

Honorable Mention
Tina Andreana, OSU; Kristen Arriola, ARIZ; B.B. Bates, UCLA; Lea Cavestany, OSU; Courtney Ceo, ORE; Ashley Chinn, STAN; Erin Guzy, OSU; Talor Haro, ASU; Corey Hanewich, STAN; Donna Kerr, UCLA; Lini Koria, ARIZ; Sam Parlich, ASU; Samantha Pappas, ORE; Mackenzie Popescue, ASU; Elia Reid, CAL; Brittany Rumfelt, ORE;  Katie Schroeder,UCLA; Taylor Smith, WASH; Morgan Stuart, WASH; Mandy Urfer, ASU; Katilin Vitek, ORE


Shelby Babcock - P  - Arizona 
Courtney Ceo  - INF - Oregon
Dallas Escobedo - P  - Arizona State
Kellie Fox  - INF - UCLA 
Jessica Hall - P - UCLA
Corey Hanewich - OF - Stanford 
Victoria Hayward - UTIL - Washington 
Kaitlyn Inglesby - P - Washington 
Alix Johnson - OF - Arizona State
Danielle Miller - DP - Stanford 
Alexa Peterson - C - Oregon 
Mackenzie Popescue - P - Arizona State 
Alyssa Tiumalu - C - UCLA 
Britt Vonk - INF - California 

Honorable Mention
Hannah Bouska, OSU; Ashley Brawley, ARIZ; Kailee Cuico, ORE; Ashley Decker, CAL; Alex Levine, ARIZ; Michelle Prong, STAN; Talee Snow, UCLA