Skip to main content

Morrison Institute awards public policy scholarships

August 11, 2008

Water conservation, recycling plastic bags, and banning text messaging while driving are the policy ideas put forth by this year's winning essayists in the annual Morrison Institute Young Steward of Public Policy Scholarship Award competition. Three Arizona high school seniors were selected in this year's competition to receive a combined total of $2,500 in scholarships to ASU this fall.

Selected through a competitive blind review process, the 2008-2009 award recipients are: Kimberly Waithe, Chandler High School in Chandler, who received the fist place award for her essay “Water Conservation;” Maple So, Yuma High School in Yuma, who received the second place award for her essay, “Proposal for Recycling Plastic Bags;” and Travis James Clement, Dobson High School in Mesa, who received an honorable mention for his essay, “Sending the Right Message.”

The prestigious Young Steward of Public Policy Scholarship Program encourages Arizona high school seniors to think about public policy issues in Arizona and to promote stewardship-public leadership committed to doing what is best for the state and its residents, regardless of political philosophy or personal gain. This initiative to engage Arizona's young leaders is offered by ASU's Morrison Institute for Public Policy, in partnership with The Arizona Republic and Tucson Citizen. The winning essays are published by both newspapers and featured on Morrison Institute's Web site.

Elaine and Richard Morrison of Gilbert, Arizona established this unique program to commemorate Morrison Institute's 20 years of policy research and to continue to expand the Morrison Institute's public service as evidence of their dedication to Arizona's future. Young Steward Scholarship awards are based on an outstanding essay about a public issue of critical importance to the State of Arizona and the specific policy recommendations on how the issue should be addressed.

Sponsors of the Young Steward program are SRP, General Dynamics, and APS. The first place award recipient receives a $1,500 scholarship; the second place award recipient receives a $1,000 scholarship. Young Steward awards are not based on financial need, academic achievement or program of study; however, the awards are only given to students who attend ASU.

Morrison Institute for Public Policy is an Arizona State University resource for objective, public policy research and analysis. A part of the School of Public Affairs, College of Public Programs, Morrison Institute brings university scholarship and public policy development together for the benefit of Arizonans.

To read the essays, visit and click the Scholarship link.