Skip to main content

More than 10,000 students set to graduate this spring

April 25, 2012

This May more than 10,000 students will become Sun Devil alumni at the university's spring commencement ceremonies. (Learn more about this year's graduates.)

The undergraduate ceremony is set to take place at 7:30 p.m., May 3, in Sun Devil Stadium, and will feature an address from Tom Brokaw, respected news anchor and former managing editor NBC’s “Nightly News.” Brokaw will also be presented with an honorary degree for his contributions to the field of journalism.

The graduate commencement is scheduled to take place at 10 a.m., May 2, in Wells Fargo Arena. More than 1,000 students are set to have their degrees conferred. Both ceremonies will be broadcasted live on ASUtv at For a complete list of convocations, visit

The School of Sustainability will graduate 115 bachelors, five masters and one doctoral student. The School of Theater and Film in the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts will proudly graduate 77 undergraduate students, four master's students and one doctoral student. The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences will award degrees to 3,350 graduates in total, while Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication will bid farewell to 183 students.

ASU also is proud to announce that 289 veterans will have their degree conferred. This year graduating vets were bestowed red, white and blue cords to wear at graduation, signifying their service in the military.

Adding to the excitement, the Golden Class of 1962 will return to ASU for a special 50-year reunion. The ASU Alumni Association will host a two-day event in which the class will reconnect and reflect on their time at ASU. Notable alums from the class of 1962 include Congressman Harry Mitchell, journalist Sel Yackley and medical researcher Nancy Pressendo.

ASU also will award honorary degrees to the following:

• Temple Grandin, researcher and professor of animal science at Colorado State University. Grandin is widely influential for her innovative work in animal science and her dedication as an author, speaker and advocate in the area of autism.

• Eric Kandel, Austrian-born American neuroscientist. Kandel is famous for his fundamental research central to understanding normal memory, dementia and mental disorders related to memory.

• Lim Chuan Poh, chairman of A*STAR – a lead government agency dedicated to fostering world-class scientific research and talent for a vibrant knowledge-based economy.

ASU will bestow the prestigious University Medal of Excellence to Nelson Broms, former chairman, president and CEO of The Equitable Life Holding Corporation.

Free parking will be available throughout the Tempe campus, except for metered spaces and residence hall lots. Parking information for commencement and convocation ceremonies can be found here.