Skip to main content

Men's golf, Spencer Fletcher champions at Bill Cullum Invitational

October 19, 2011

Final Round ResultsGet Acrobat Reader
ASU All-Time Team Tournament Victories
ASU All-Time Medalists

The Arizona State men's golf team completed something they haven't done since 2009 on the back of first-time champion senior Spencer Fletcher. The Sun Devils and Fletcher both rose from third-place after two rounds to finish tied for first-place in the Bill Cullum Invitational at Wood Ranch Golf Club in Simi Valley, Calif.

Trailing Long Beach State by four strokes coming into the day, ASU charged to the top of the leader board thanks to the consistency of each Sun Devil player. Their combined 11-under-par 853 (282-288-282) propelled them to their first title since the Olympia Fields Invitational in Chicago, Ill. in Sept. of 2009.

Fletcher, coming off of his best-career finish last week of 5th-place, once again soared to the top of the field in the first two rounds to position himself in 3rd-place. He was 3rd after the first two rounds in the previous tournament as well. This time, however, he kept looking up. Fletcher shot a 4-under-par 68 to finish with a total of 8-under-par 208 (68-72-68). He shot one stroke better than Loyola Marymount's Tyler Torano on the final day to share the lead with him at the tournament's completion.

The rest of the Arizona State members did their share as well. Freshman Stan Gautier had his best-career finish at 4-under-par 212 (71-72-69). He finished in 6th-place. Freshman Mathias Schjoelberg ended tied for 10th after shooting a 1-over-par 73 in the final round. He completed the day at 1-under-par 215 (75-67-73).

Junior Jin Song finished tied for 27th at 5-over-par 221 (71-77-73), and was 1-over-par for the final 18 holes, while freshman Austin Quick shot an even par to complete the tournament at 7-over-par 223 (73-78-72). He shot even-par on the day.

Fletcher's win makes him the first Sun Devil individual champion since Jesper Kennegard in the 2010 Southern Highland Intercollegiate. This is the second time in four years an ASU golfer has won this tournament, for Tristan Bierenbroodspot also won it in 2008.

Long Beach State also finished at 11-under and was co-champions. The University of Denver was a distant-third at 2-over-par.

Due to a fog delay resulting in a late start this morning, it was not possible for a playoff to be held for both an individual champion and a team champion.

Xander Schauffele of Long Beach State finished third at a combined 7-over-par 209 (68-72-69). C.J. Kim of Denver, who shot a course-record 64 in the first round, finished tied for 7th with a 2-under-par 214 (64-74-76).