Men's golf hosts 40th annual Thunderbird Invitational

The Arizona State men's golf team is set to host the 40th annual ASU Thunderbird Invitational at ASU's Karsten Golf Course (par-71, 7,026 yards), April 6-7. The 17 participating schools will play 36 holes Friday and a final round on Sunday.

ASU has won seven of the past 13 (1999-2001, 2003-2004, 2008-2009) Thunderbird Invitational Tournaments and has won the tournament 14 of the past 23 years. Last year, ASU finished in a tie for fifth at 4-over 856 as USC claimed the team championship with a 15-under 837, while San Diego State's J.J. Spaun was crowned individual champion after shooting a 7-under 206.

The Sun Devils will field a lineup of senior Spencer Fletcher, freshman Mathias Schjoelberg, freshman Austin Quick, junior Jin Song and freshman David Lowe. Freshman Cameron Palmer, freshman Stan Gautier and sophomore Wes Strang will compete as individuals.

Arizona State, Arizona, Ball State, BYU, California, Cal State Northridge, Colorado State, Denver, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Pepperdine, San Diego State, UC-Irvine, UNLV, UTSA, Washington and Wyoming.

Fourteen ASU teams have won the Thunderbird Invitational, with ASU winning the title in 1984, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2008 and 2009.

Eight Sun Devils have won the individual titles on nine occasions, with Phil Mickelson (1991 and 1992) the only multiple winner. Other Sun Devil individual winners include Mark Sollenberger (1974), Jim Carter (1984), Larry Barber (1994), Todd Demsey (1995), Jeff Quinney (2000), Paul Casey (2001) and Alejandro Canizares (2003), Stephan Gross (2009-shared).