Skip to main content

Men's golf heads to Colorado for NCAA Regional

May 11, 2011

Click here for ASU men's golf statistics

Want a quick look at how the Sun Devils did at past NCAA Regional action? Click here for easy access...

Colorado's National Golf Club to Host NCAA Regional May 19-21

The No. 24 Arizona State University men's golf team will travel to Erie, Colo., to participate in NCAA Regional play May 19-21.

The six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 19-21. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the 2011 NCAA Division 1 Men's Golf Championship (114th annual), hosted by Oklahoma State, May 31- June 5 at Karsten Creek Golf Course in Stillwater, Okla.

Colorado National Golf Club - Erie, Colorado
Hosted by University of Colorado-Boulder

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference champion)
2. Georgia
3. Auburn
4. Arizona State
5. Clemson
6. Chattanooga
7. TCU
8. North Florida
9. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference champion)
10. Northwestern
11. Colorado State
12. San Jose State
13. Denver (Sun Belt Conference champion)

2011 NCAA Men's Golf Regional Sites (May 19-21)
Colorado National Golf Club - Erie, Colorado (Colorado-Boulder)
The Farms Golf Club - San Diego, California (UCSD)
Wolf Run Golf Course - Zionsville, Indiana (Indiana)
The Pete Dye River Course - Radford, Virginia (Virginia Tech)
Golden Ocala Golf Club - Ocala, Florida (Florida)
Omni Tucson National Resort - Tucson, Arizona (Arizona)

Counting its appearance in the 23 years a NCAA Regional has been staged (1989-2011), ASU has made 28 straight NCAA Tournament appearances, the sixth-longest active streak in the nation. ASU has advanced to the NCAA Championship (finals) 26 of the past 27 seasons (1984-2010), missing only in 2002, and in 45 of the past 47 seasons (1964-2010), missing prior to 2002 in 1983.

Oklahoma State, 1947-2011, 65
USC, 1973-2011, 39
Texas, 1978-2011, 34
Clemson, 1982-11, 30
Arizona State, 1984-11, 28
Georgia Tech, 1985-11, 27
*Note: List includes NCAA Championship prior to 1989 and reaching at least NCAA Regionals from 1989-present.

With the victories by both the team and Jesper Kennegard at the 2009 West Regional, ASU has won or tied for the title in a NCAA Regional six times. ASU tied with Arizona in 1991 and tied with New Mexico in 1998. It won the title outright in 1995, 1999, 2001 and 2009. Sun Devil Paul Casey won the 1998 individual title outright followed by Jeff Quinney (1999), Benjamin Alvarado Holley (2007) and then Jesper Kennegard in 2009. Matt Jones shared medalist honors in 2001.

TRYING TO REACH CHAMPIONSHIPS THROUGH REGIONALS: ASU has made the NCAA Championship in the past eight seasons and in 17 of 18 seasons under Randy Lein, but it sure isn't getting easier with the 30-team, three-round regional format. Using Golfweek's rankings through the regionals last year, five top 30 teams did not go to the NCAA Championships in Chattanooga, a list that included No. 13 Georgia, No. 18 South Carolina, No. 25 San Diego State, No. 28 Colorado State and No. 30 Alabama. In 2009, nine top-30 teams did not advance to the NCAA Championships after regional action.

IT ISN'T EASY, PART TWO: Arizona State is one of just a dozen teams to play in the past three NCAA Championships. UCLA, Stanford, USC, Oklahoma State, Washington, Florida, Texas A&M, Illinois, Texas, Virginia and Oregon are the others.

START IT OVER: Back in 2002, Randy Lein saw ASU's 18-year NCAA championship consecutive streak snapped in a season that had injuries and bad luck. ASU is back in the saddle with eight straight, and to show you how competitive the NCAA men's golf championships is, that streak already is tied for the third-best active streak, as Georgia had a 12-year streak snapped this year and Wake Forest had a five-year run ended. Only four teams have made the NCAAs in each of the past eight seasons.

Oklahoma State, 1947-2010, 64
Florida, 2001-2010, 10
Arizona State, 2003-2010, 8
UCLA, 2003-2010, 8

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP APPEARANCES: ASU has made 17 NCAA Championship appearances in Randy Lein's 18 years (1993-2010), tied for the second-best mark in the nation with Florida.

Oklahoma State-18
Arizona State and Florida-17
Clemson and Georgia Tech-15
Texas and Wake Forest-14
North Carolina and UNLV-13
Auburn, Georgia and New Mexico-12