Skip to main content

Men's golf heads to Bay Area for Western Intercollegiate

April 14, 2011

The Arizona State men's golf team is set to play at the 65th Annual Western Intercollegiate April 16-17 at the Pasatiempo Golf Course (par 70/6,615 yards) just outside of Santa Cruz, Calif.

The 15 participating schools will play 54 holes on April 16 and 18 holes on April 17, with each day teeing off at 8:15 a.m. (PT). Hosted by San Jose State, teams will be made up of six players with the best five scores from each round counting toward the team total.

Senior Scott Pinckney took second at the USC Collegiate Invitational and has four top-10 finishes in the last five tournaments. Senior Jesper Kennegard has placed in the top 10 twice this season (tied for sixth at Amer Ari Invitational tied for ninth at Southern Highlands Collegiate), while fellow senior James Byrne paced the Sun Devils with a ninth-place finish at the ASU Thunderbird Invitational April 9-10.

This will be the sixth event of the year for senior Oscar Zetterwall and the ninth for senior Thomas Buran, who took second at The Prestige at PGA West and eighth at the Topy Cup. Phillip Francis also has a pair of top-10 finishes this season (sixth at Topy Cup and seventh at The Battle at the Beach) and is the lone junior competing in the event for the Sun Devils.

ASU won the team title in 1969, 1972, 1974 and 1977, and four Sun Devils have taken individual medalist honors, including Stan Hobert in 1957, Howard Twitty in 1972, Lee Mikles in 1977 and Scott Watkins in 1979.

Oregon is the defending champion and the Ducks' Eugene Wong was last year's medalist.

Live scoring of the entire two-day event will be available on

No. 22 Arizona State (ASU)
No. 7 Augusta State (AUG)
No. 18 California (CAL)
Colorado (CU)
Denver (DU)
Hawaii (UH)
New Mexico State (NMSU)
Oregon (UO)
No. 4 San Diego State (SDSU)
San Jose State (SJSU)
No. 20 Southern California (USC)
No. 19 Stanford (STAN)
UC Irvine (UCI)
Washington (UW)
*rankings according to April 13 Golfstat poll