Leadership Academy aims to help small business in the economic recovery

June 18, 2012

Small businesses play a key role in our economic recovery, creating jobs to help get our community back on track. The W. P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University is offering a program to help small business owners and executives learn how to improve efficiency, streamline operations and raise profits. The fifth annual Small Business Leadership Academy is available to the leaders of small and diverse local businesses.

“We’ve had phenomenal feedback from business owners who attended the academy over the past several years,” said Dawn Feldman, executive director of the W. P. Carey School of Business Center for Executive and Professional Development, which hosts the program. “Classes are held just one night per week, so they fit right into busy executives’ schedules, and they’re taught by top professors from the highly ranked W. P. Carey School. Participants not only take away great business knowledge, but also a new support network of peers that will exist long after the program is over.” Dawn Feldman Download Full Image

Salt River Project (SRP), the program’s founding co-sponsor, is offering a number of scholarships to its current suppliers and small business customers.

“The academy offers an outstanding opportunity for small business owners to gain knowledge from highly acclaimed professors and establish lasting relationships with other community small business owners, all in a well-structured academic, but practical environment,” said Carrie Young, senior director, corporate operations services for SRP. “The partnership we have with ASU, coupled with the sponsorship and scholarships we offer to the academy, is a natural fit for SRP in supporting economic development within our own community.”

As part of a larger partnership with ASU focused on small business support, JPMorgan Chase is also joining as a top sponsor, providing 15 scholarships to the academy.

“As Arizona’s number one SBA lender, we know how important small businesses are to our economy,” said Joe Stewart, chairman and CEO of JPMorgan Chase in Arizona. “Entrepreneurs who participate in the Small Business Leadership Academy will get the best of ASU in a format that fits their busy schedules.”

The 10-week academy will run on Wednesday nights from Aug. 29 to Nov. 14. The curriculum will cover business strategy, team-building, negotiations, procurement and competition through service offerings. Program applications are due July 13.

Participants must come from companies that have:

• been in business for at least three years
• annual revenues between $1 million and $10 million
• fewer than 100 employees

Applicants must be able to attend all scheduled classes and related activities. Those who complete the program will receive four Continuing Education Units (CEUs) from Arizona State University. These units are widely used as a measure of participation in non-credit, professional development courses.

Other sponsors of this year’s program include the Arizona Lottery, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arizona, U.S. Bank and the Hahnco Companies. These firms are also sponsors of the school’s Spirit of Enterprise Awards, which recognize some of the state’s best businesses. The W. P. Carey School’s Spirit of Enterprise Center helps hundreds of small businesses each year.

For more information about sponsoring a scholarship or applying to the program offered through the nationally ranked W. P. Carey School of Business, call (480) 965-7579, e-mail wpcarey.execed@asu.edu or visit www.wpcarey.asu.edu/sbla. Current SRP vendors can also contact Art Oros, SRP procurement services manager, for information about this year’s SRP scholarships at (602) 236-8773 or Art.Oros@srpnet.com.

ASU hosts Reynolds Institute for high school teachers

June 18, 2012

Thirty high school journalism teachers from around the country will grow their skills at Arizona State University this summer in a training program funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and operated by the American Society of News Editors.

In its sixth year at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, the two-week institute immerses teachers in specialized skills such as writing, editing, reporting, multimedia, layout and photojournalism, and also is providing grounding in professional ethics, the First Amendment and scholastic press freedom. Download Full Image

Participants, many from underrepresented high schools, are supplied with housing, meals, continuing-education credit and instructional materials free of charge.

The boot-camp style workshop is taught by Steve Elliott, director of digital news for the Cronkite School’s professional reporting program Cronkite News Service.

"Teachers have consistently called this a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to acquire skills and establish professional connections that benefit countless students over the years," Elliott said. 

The Reynolds High School Journalism Institute will take place in the Cronkite School’s state-of-the-art media complex in downtown Phoenix from June 17 to 29. The other Reynolds institutes will take place on the following campuses:

• University of Texas at Austin, June 17-29
• Kent State University, July 8-20
• University of Nevada, Reno, July 8-20
• University of Missouri, Columbia, July 15-27

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation is a national philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, it has committed more than $100 million through its journalism initiative.

The American Society of News Editors is comprised of top editors at news organizations; deans, directors and endowed chairs at accredited journalism schools; and leaders of journalism foundations and training organizations.

2012 Reynolds High School Journalism Institute participants:

Bidjan Aminian, Dublin High School, Dublin, Calif.

Elaine Broussard, Belle Chasse High School, Belle Chasse, La.

Steve Caswell, Simi Valley High School, Simi Valley, Calif.

Rhonda Dickens, Chisolm Trail High School, Fort Worth, Texas

Debbie Glenn, Blue Valley West High School, Overland Park, Kan.

Sara Hennes, Cody Community Schools, Detroit, Mich.

Linda Hopson, Bellaire High School, Bellaire, Texas

Heather Jancoski, Desert Sands Middle School, Phoenix

Janice Johnson, Vista del Lago High School, Folsom, Calif.

Jackie Ludka, Pleasant Valley High School, Brodheadsville, Pa.

Deann McBride, Page High School, Page, Ariz.

Sarah Noah, Goshen High School, Goshen, Ind.

Jamie Nusbaum, Sheboygan North High School, Sheboygan, Wis.

Donna Owen, McIntosh High School, Peachtree City, Ga.

Bridget Parker, Seton-La Salle High School, Pittsburgh

Ryan Peacock, Tooele High School, Tooele, Utah

Stephanie Platter, King's High School, Seattle, Wash.

Denise Powell, Bok Edward W. Technical High School, Philadelphia, Pa.

Chad Renning, Sandra Day O'Connor High School, Phoenix

Cody Roberts, Charles H. Milby High School, Houston

Kelly Robinson, Bolton High School, Arlington, Tenn.

Hannah Sagaser, Mandan High School, Mandan, N.D.

Ben Sellers, North Stafford High School, Stafford, Va.

Marlo Spritzer, Southern Lehigh Senior High School, Center Valley, Pa.

Maya Suryaraman, Santa Clara High School, Santa Clara, Calif.

Larry Wayman, Wallace Rider Farrington High School, Honolulu

Stan West, Hales Franciscan High School, Chicago

Paula Wolfe, Dubuque High School, Dubuque, Iowa

Amelia Wright, West Morris Central High School, Chester, N.J.

Sarah Zerwin, Fairview High School, Boulder, Colo.

Reporter , ASU News