Skip to main content

Justice O'Connor to deliver annual Pedrick Lecture

March 29, 2010

U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor (ret.) will give the Fourteenth Annual Willard H. Pedrick Lecture at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 31, in the Great Hall of Armstrong Hall at the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law.

Free tickets are available at

Justice O'Connor will speak on judicial independence and the importance of merit selection processes for judges.

The lecture is hosted by the Pedrick family, and was established in 1997 in memory of the founding dean of the College of Law. The annual lecture brings to the law school outstanding legal scholars, jurists or practitioners to enrich the intellectual life of the College and the community.

Previous lecturers and their titles at the time were:

2008-09: The Honorable Harry T. Edwards, Senior Circuit Judge and Chief Judge Emeritus, U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit

2007-08: U.S. Supreme Court Justice Stephen Breyer

2006-07: Martin D. Ginsburg, Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center

2005-06: Sir Neil MacCormick, Regius Professor of Law, University of Edinburgh

2004-05: Mary M. Schroeder, Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

2003-04: Frederick Schauer, Frank Stanton Professor of the First Amendment, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

2002-03: Lee C. Bollinger, President, Columbia University

2001-02: Ronald Dworkin, Frank H. Sommer Professor of Law, New York University Law School

2000-01: Yale Kamisar, Clarence Darrow Distinguished University Professor of Law, University of Michigan

1999-2000: Martha A. Field, Langdell Professor of Law, Harvard Law School

1998-99: Andrew D. Hurwitz, Esquire, Osborn Maledon, P.A.

1997-98: Kathleen M. Sullivan, Stanley Morrison Professor, Stanford University

1996-97: Robert Post, Professor, University of California Berkeley, and Benjamin Barber, Professor, Rutgers University

Judy Nichols,
(480) 727-7895
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law