Skip to main content

Jelmini takes second, Nettey seventh on first day of NCAA finals

June 09, 2011

The first day of action at the 2011 NCAA Division I Track & Field Championship Final came to a close at Drake Stadium in Des Moines, Iowa, on June 8, with two members of the Arizona State University track and field team scoring Top 8 finishes in their respective field events and one runner posting the second-fastest time in school history. Overall, seven Sun Devils competed on the first of four days of competition, including six women.

In the early team standings (through three scored events), the ASU women are one of five teams tied for the lead with 10.0 points, joining rival Arizona, Duke, Northwestern State and Southern Mississippi in the top position. On the men’s side (through three events), BYU holds the early lead with 17.5 points and is followed by Washington (11) in second and a three-way tie for third among Illinois State, Kansas and Texas Tech (10 points each).

In the first event of the day, freshman Anna Jelmini competed in a back-and-forth battle for the title in the women’s discus, but lost to a collegiate competitor for the first time all season as her mark of 57.97m (190-2) placed her second overall to earn eight team points. An All-American in the event with her finish, Jelmini held the lead through four rounds before needing to reclaim that lead at the end of the fifth round. In the final round, Trecey Rew (Northwestern State) hit a mark of 58.64m (192-4) on the second-to-last throw of the competition. Jelmini followed with her best mark of the day, but it was not enough to claim the crown.

Staying in the field, Christabel Nettey posted a wind-aided mark of 6.47m (21-02.75) in the first round of the women’s long jump and that mark stood up through the final to place the sophomore seventh overall and collect two more team points. Nettey had four marks over 20-feet on the day and tied with two other competitors for sixth place, but was placed seventh based on her second-best mark, a leap of 6.35m (20-10.00).

On the track, Jasmine Chaney continued to make a name for herself as the junior rose higher in the school’s all-time Top 10 list, this time in the 400m hurdles as the senior ran 56.08 to record the sixth-best time on the day and advance to the final on Friday night. Her time now ranks her second all-time in ASU history, bettering her previous best of 56.61 run earlier this season, and placed her only behind Omolade Akinremi, who ran 55.44 in 1995.

Kayla Sanchez also competed in the 400m hurdles and posted a time of 58.64 to finish 21st overall. Earlier in the day, both Sanchez and Chaney were on the track with Asia Gooden and Alycia Herring for the semifinal round of the 4x100m relay, but the team did not finish the race. The final Sun Devil to compete on the day came in the men’s 100m dash semifinal where rookie Ryan Milus ran 10.52 to finish 19th overall.

On June 9, several more Sun Devils will be in action on the second day of competition. Samantha Henderson and Keia Pinnick will begin the two-day heptathlon competition starting with the 100m hurdles at 1 p.m. while Darius Terry will run the semifinal of the men’s 1,500m race at 6:15 p.m., followed by Chaney in the semifinal of the 100m hurdles at 6:50 p.m. and then the women’s 4x400m relay semifinal race at 8 p.m.

2011 NCAA Championship Finals (Des Moines, Iowa)
Day One Results • Wednesday, June 8
Women’s Discus - Final
2. Anna Jelmini - 57.97m (190-2) - All-American (scores 8 points for team)

Women’s Long Jump - Final
7. Christabel Nettey - 6.47m (21-02.75)(+3.8) - All-American (scores 2 points for team)

Women’s 4x100m Relay - Semifinal
--. Arizona State (Gooden, Sanchez, Herring, Chaney) - DNF

Men’s 100m Dash - Semifinal
19. Ryan Milus - 10.52 - does not advance to the final

Women’s 400m Hurdles - Semifinal
6. Jasmine Chaney - 56.08 - advances to final - ASU #2 all-time
21. Kayla Sanchez - 58.64 - does not advance to the final

Top 5 Team Scores (through Day One)
1. Arizona State - 10.0
1. Arizona - 10.0
1. Duke - 10.0
1. Northwestern State - 10.0
1. Southern Mississippi - 10.0

1. BYU - 17.5
2. Washington - 11.0
3. Illinois State - 10.0
3. Kansas - 10.0
3. Texas Tech - 10.0
Arizona State has not scored yet