Skip to main content

High school teachers learn journalism basics

June 17, 2009

Thirty-five high school teachers from 14 states are participating in an intensive journalism boot camp at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

The ASNE Reynolds High School Journalism Institute prepares teachers to help students make sound news and ethical judgments, produce stronger reporting, writing, visuals and multimedia elements and practice with a greater understanding of the First Amendment. It is being held at the Cronkite School in downtown Phoenix June 14-26.

Made possible by a grant from the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and administered by the American Society of News Editors, the five Reynolds Institutes held nationally recruit from schools in urban and rural areas where journalism programs are under the most stress. Hundreds applied this year, and participants were selected competitively.

This year’s speakers include:

•    Marty Kaiser, current ASNE president and editor of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel;
•    Rick Rodriguez, a former ASNE president who is the Cronkite School’s first Carnegie Professor specializing in Latino and transnational news coverage; and
•    Gregory Favre, another former ASNE president who serves as Distinguished Fellow for Journalism Values at the Poynter Institute for Media Studies in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Participants will learn from other Cronkite School faculty as well as leading Arizona journalists and a representative of the Student Press Law Center.

Steve Elliott, a professor of practice and director of digital news for Cronkite News Service, leads the instruction, assisted on high school-specific subjects by Alan Weintraut, media adviser at Annandale High School in Annandale, Va., and the 2006 Dow Jones Teacher of the Year.

Other Reynolds Institutes will be held this summer at Kent State University in Ohio, the University of Nevada, Reno, the University of Texas at Austin and Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Va.

Here are the 35 teachers coming to the Cronkite School:

•    Deborah Aughey, Campbell High School, Smyrna, Ga.
•    Ashley Barnes, Bel Air High School, Bel Air, Md.
•    Virginia Barr, Turlock High School, Turlock, Calif.
•    Jill Bhowmik, Granite Hills High School, El Cajon, Calif.
•    Rick Burd, Wickenburg High School, Wickenburg, Ariz.
•    Eric Chow, Philip and Sala Burton Academic High School, San Francisco
•    Carol Clarke, Mount Whitney High School, Visalia, Calif.
•    Carlos Contreras, Palmview High School, Mission, Texas
•    Melissa Cordova, Eli Whitney Technical High School, Hamden, Conn.
•    Joanne Drapiewski, Frederick Douglas Academy II, New York City
•    Lynn Dulcie, Rock Hill High School, Rock Hill, S.C.
•    Jeffrey Fencl, Del Norte High School, Albuquerque, N.M.
•    Teresa Gallegos, Blackfoot High School, Blackfoot, Idaho
•    Irma Garcia, Coolidge High School, Coolidge, Ariz.
•    Marc Garcia, Sunset High School, Dallas
•    Rebecca Gemmell, Escondido High School, Escondido, Calif.
•    Joanne Greer, John F. Kennedy High School, Silver Spring, Md.
•    Eric Gutierrez, Gretchen Whitney High School, Cerritos, Calif.
•    Kye Haina, Kamehameha Schools, Maui Campus, Makawao, Hawaii
•    Adam Haller, Northwestern High School, Baltimore
•    Anna Horton, Highland High School, Gilbert, Ariz.
•    Rebecca Jackson, Douglas County High School, Douglasville, Ga.
•    Jeffery Jones, Miyamura High School, Gallup, N.M.
•    Andrea Krueger, Centennial High School, Circle Pines, Minn.
•    Alma McDonald, Hattiesburg High School, Hattiesburg, Ms.
•    Sharon Nolan, North Canyon High School, Phoenix
•    Ana Rosenthal, Hockaday School, Dallas
•    Mark Salvatore, St. Joseph Academy, Brownsville, Texas
•    Lynne Schneider, Murrah High School, Jackson, Ms.
•    Mark Silverstein, Douglas High School, Douglas, Ariz.
•    Juli Stricklan, Rigby High School, Rigby, Idaho
•    Ariawna Talton, Molina High School, Dallas
•    Mark Webber, Trevino School of Communication and Fine Arts, Laredo, Texas
•    Trampus Willis, South Side High School, Fort Wayne, Ind.
•    Jessica Young, Orange Glen High School, Escondido, Calif.