Skip to main content

Engineering Gold takes on final Academic Bowl night

October 16, 2009

The final round of the ASU Academic Bowl competition was held Oct. 15 in the Stauffer B building on the Tempe campus. In the first round of the night the Gold team from the Ira A. Fulton School of Engineering, consisting of Alan Hogan, Cody Anderson, Eric Lehnhardt, Lauren Allee and Shawn Haupt, beat the W.P. Carey School of Business team with a score of 125-115.

Next up for the Engineering Gold team was a matchup between them and the Maroon team from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. This round however, was won by the CLAS Maroon team with a score of 440-70.

The Engineering Gold team’s final round was spent battling the CLAS Gold team, which ended in a win for CLAS Gold with a final score of 275-90, leaving the Engineering Gold team eliminated from the competition.

The final show-down of the night was between the Maroon and Gold teams from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. In the end, the Maroon team proved victorious and won the competition with a final score of 295-195.

The winning team consisted of Carolyn Moss, Kenneth Lan, Matthew Smith, and Theodore Miller. The team was awarded a trophy and a $7,500 scholarship was given to each student by Virgil Renzulli, the vice president of ASU Public Affairs, which sponsored the bowl.

Writer: Chelsea Brown