Diver Eggers named 2012 Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year

Arizona State senior diver Elina Eggers was named the 2012 Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires, for women's swimming and diving. The Pac-12 selects one athlete from each sport across all 12 member institutions to receive the honor.

Eggers, a native of Stockholm, Sweden, is one of the most accomplished divers both academically and athletically in the history of Arizona State. A two-time Pac-12 Champion ('10, '12) on the 10-meter Platform, Eggers was the National Runner-up in the event at the NCAA women's swimming and diving championships in 2011.

Eggers also earned one of the highest academic distinctions for a collegiate athlete when she was named to the Capital One Academic All-American first team in 2011. With a 3.96 GPA in economics, Eggers was one of only 15 athletes in the nation to earn the award among a pool of athletes across 13 Olympic sports. The diver was also named a third-team Academic All-American honor in 2010. In addition to her national honors, Eggers is a three-time first-team Pac-12 All-Academic recipient.

While competing at Arizona State, Eggers set four new school records including two 1-meter springboard records, the 3-meter championship meet record and the record on platform during a championship meet. The senior also joins a long list of multiple NCAA All-American honorees under head coach Mark Bradshaw, with four career accolades including two this season.

The senior joins an elite group Sun Devil athletes to earn the illustrious academic honor. With the inception of the award in 2007, 16 total ASU athletes have won the Pac-12 Scholar Athlete Award, presented by Toyo Tires, second most in the conference to Stanford. 

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletic eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution nominates one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-10 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball and wrestling.