Skip to main content

Deadline nears for community race relations nominations

February 08, 2010

Arizona State University’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences is accepting nominations for the annual A. Wade Smith Community Award for Advancement of Race Relations. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 15.

Individuals considered for this award are Arizona residents who have demonstrated leadership in the advancement of race relations within their community. The nomination form is online at

The A. Wade Smith Memorial Lecture committee selects as the recipient of this annual award, a courageous and caring person in the community who best represents what it means to be a leader in the struggle for advancement of race relations. Past recipients include David Hemphill, Doris Marshall, Raner Collins, Betty Fairfax, Jean Fairfax and Elsie Moore.

The award will be given at the 15th annual A. Wade Smith Memorial Lecture on Race Relations on April 8 in the Memorial Union on ASU’s Tempe campus.

The lecture is held to celebrate and honor the work Smith accomplished during his lifetime. A former professor and chair of sociology at ASU, Smith spent much of his life in pursuit of the advancement of race relations on campus and within his community. The lecture was established after his death in 1994 through funding from his family and friends in their hopes to continue Smith’s work of improving race relations in Arizona.

The lecture is free and open to the public. Additional information is available online at, or at 480-965-0051.

Written by Danielle Legler ( for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Carol Hughes,
(480) 965-6375